We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Ranked #40 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky to get a room in this B&B after stumbling into Windermere without a booking. Among it's many great features:
* Paula and Graham the hosts are incredibly nice-- made all the guests feel welcome
* Nice cosy modern rooms-- feels like a full service hotel but more personable.
* Close to the train station
* Great breakfast with a good option for vegetarians
* A good deal-- well worth what I paid

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Fantastic, that says it all. Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We remember you walked in from the street after arriving in Windermere one afternoon so we are glad our frontage is appealing and then once inside the guest house you found this equally good. Great to hear we offer hotel service with a personal touch and that you found us conveniently located to the train station and that are breakfast choice is good and yes as well as our full English which is great for all our meat eaters we offer good choices for vegetarians too.
Lastly its great to know you found we offer value for money. Something very important we feel.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Lingmoor for one night in July, wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we were treated as friends rather than guests, and the owners Paula and Graham were really friendly. The room and bed was so comfy, best nights sleep in ages, and the breakfast was yummy, filled us up for hours. We have no problem in recommending Lingmoor to anyone looking for a friendly, family run guest house in the heart of Windermere. Thank you Paula and Graham for a wonderful stay. We will be back x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwright260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, especially as you only stayed for 1 night. Glad we were able to make such a good impression in such a short space of time. Great to hear you found our breakfast yummy and you had a good nights sleep-the best in ages in fact which is so good to hear. We thank you for recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully next time for longer.
Kind Regards
Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lingmoor Guest House is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed. Great location, 3 mins walk from Windermere rail station. Paula and Graham are very friendly and helpful, they provide detailed travel information about the Lake District. (Thanks for the info - we enjoyed the view from Orrest Head a lot). No lift, but they are happy to help with the luggages. Small room, but very clean and well decorated. They use high quality stuff (can tell from the bed linen and toilet tissue!) which I highly appreciated. We had the best B&B breakfast there. You can even customize your breakfast by leaving a note before - that's just too sweet. Paula is very considerate and detail minded. She left us Earl Grey tea bags in the room just because we had that for the breakfast :) Do not hesitate to book a room here to make your Lake District journey a perfect one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuitblanchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Wow what a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lengthy review and great to hear we ticked all the boxes in making your stay and excellent one. From our location something as you say is great as we are only 3 minutes walk from the train station. We are pleased us helping us with your luggage was duly noted this is something we like to offer all guests whom we check in ourselves. Also its great that you found the bedrooms well decorated, very clean and the bedding and toilet tissue of high quality. Whilst we are 3 star silver we still like to offer those little luxuries associated with 5 star establishments.
Thanks again and for letting other trip advisor members/viewers to not hesitate booking a room.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards

Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights and we really enjoyed everything. Paula's a joy- very hospitable, generous, and helpful w/ anything we needed and she made us feel immediately at home. She even went out of her way to place some of my choice breakfast tea in our room in case I wanted some later on during my stay! The location was absolutely perfect as well, I can't recommend the Lingmoor enough if you're looking for a convenient place to stay in Windermere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Ben and family

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It is so refreshing to get such a lovely review especially as I made a small mistake of originally putting you in the wrong room.
We are really pleased you found us conveniently located and that my hospitality made you feel at home. Glad you liked the tea and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in the Lakes on the farm in Keswick.
Hope they didn't have you milking the cows for your milk for breakfast!!

Kind Regards

Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean enough but very "self-service" approach to welcoming guests. We were left an envelope on the hall stand, containing a 'welcome letter' and our keys and all the time the proprietor was in the kitchen.

If we hadn't have had reason to call her, due to the 'welcome letter' not containing any parking instructions, as advised (parking is absolute hell, by the way; don't bother trying to park nearby, as there are only one-hour bays opposite the guest house and they are busy, busy, busy), we'd not have discovered that Paula was home, all along, as we were told to check ourselves in.

No lift and three flights of very steep stairs up to our room.

We had an attic room, at the back of the house, thankfully, well away from the incredibly busy road. The room had two roof beams perfectly placed for a night-time head crack, so beware, it is very low as you approach the en-suite.

Unlike all of the other B&Bs we stayed in during our trip to England, there was nowhere to sit during the day or evening, except in the room. The breakfast room was kept locked at all times other than the allotted breakfast time.

Paula is a pleasant enough lady when encountered but gives the definite impression that she wants minimal contact with the guests, as outside of breakfast and checkout, she is absent.

We met Graham only at checkout.

Overall, this B&B is adequate but absolutely nothing special, as some of the other reviews indicate. We stayed in far superior accommodation, during our time in England.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobinK989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review, which of course we are disappointed with. As you will see and state in your review, the majority of reviews about Lingmoor Guest House are excellent, as we are passionate about what we do and how we run our bed and breakfast.
We gave you the self service check in as you weren’t sure what time you would be arriving with us.
When you arrived as you say there was a welcome letter as promised and we are sorry if there were no parking instructions on. I think Graham who you met at checkout may have written it and I failed to let him know you were travelling by car and he did you the one with arriving from the train station instructions on. However I was in so came out and showed you to your room and gave you all the information I usually give to guests including parking. As I seem to remember you parked on a car park for the duration of your stay which you were thrilled about.
We are a Victorian terraced house so there are roof beams which you do have to be mindful of and as I remember you hung a scarf on it which I thought was a good idea. We don’t have a lift as again we are a Victorian terraced house but when we are here we help all guests with their luggage up to the room. As I did with yourself and your wife.
You mention the lack of contact with the owners however you were checked in, we were available the whole breakfast service and after and at check out. This is normal for a B&B as guests are out during the day. We are not sure when else you would like to have seen us.
The dining room is locked in our absence in accordance with our fire safety regulations.
We really work hard to make sure every guest has a brilliant time with us and as we say earlier in our reply we thought we had achieved this when you checked out.
When you checked out you left a Thank you in the guest book and we chatted in the hallway like friends. Your wife even gave us a kiss. We just wish instead you had brought all of the above to our attention at the time of your stay instead of 2 months later. Fortunately we have trip advisor to redress the balance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room is very clean and cosy. The hosts are kind and sincere, very helpful on all kinds of information as well. The location is convenient to get to from the train station. It's also convenient to get to the town centre. Our stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Bryan

Thank you so much for writing your review about your stay with us. We are really glad that you and your family enjoyed our clean, cosy, well located B&B and that we were able to help you plan your stay with us. If we remember you all went on the tours which we highly recommend to all of our guests especially if they are here for a short stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Lingmoor.
Kind Regards

Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The room was not big but very cozy.
We miss the beds, they were so comfortable that we adjusted the jet lag overnight.

The water pressure from the tap and the shower was not very stable but durable.
The cold and the hot tap water are seperated, so you have to be aware of the water temperature when using the sink.
There is no lift in the house, so be prepared to carry the lugguage upstairs.

Other than these, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingmoor, Owner at Lingmoor Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Kelly

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor which is pleasing when we read that you are missing our beds and that you found the room cozy.
We are really glad you had a great stay and we hope you will return to Lingmoor in the future.
Kind Regards

Paula and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
#79 of 107 in Windermere
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#34 of 107 in Windermere
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingmoor Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingmoor Guest Accommodation

Address: 7 High Street, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lingmoor Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingmoor Guest House is a beautiful Victorian house in Windermere in the heart of the English lakes only 200 metres from Windermere railway/coach and bus station. Wi-Fi throughout. Choice of breakfast. Recently refurbished rooms.Personally run by husband and wife team Paula and Graham Smith.Chef Graham prides himself on his fabulous Cumbrian breakfast, whilst Paula looks after front of house. Many guests comment on this winning combination which along with the convenient, central location and beautiful period property make Lingmoor Guesthouse the ideal place to stay.All rooms are double glazed, have flat-screen TV's with integrated DVD player’s and well-stocked hospitality trays. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the house. Children over 5 years only. Exclusively for non-smokers. Single travellers welcome. Full library of books, magazines and detailed walks are available for guests to enjoy during their stay. Packed lunches also available.Lingmoor Guest House is only a 15-minute walk from Lake Windermere and the same distance from Orrest Head which offers fabulous views of lake Windermere.The World of Beatrix Potter is only a 5-minute bus ride away, 15-minutes walk and Hill Top is 4.5 miles from the guest house.Out of hours check in is available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lingmoor Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingmoor Guest Hotel Windermere
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing