We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at a very well located B&B”
Review of White Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Rose
Ranked #52 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely time at a very well located B&B”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a very well located 4 star B&B that was recommended by a friend in the first place. The host is very nice and welcoming and breakfasts are amazing. The room was very comfortable and clean so I will be recommending the place myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and Boris and I'm pleased that you got home safely. We wish you all the best and hope you will have a long and happy life together.
Hopefully you will find time to visit the beautiful Lake District in the not too distant future! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Wonderful stay warm and friendly host wonderful rooms will be booking again enjoyed the whole stay thank you so much

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyspud5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the White Rose. It was nice meeting you and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We hope that you will visit again soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed there two nights. The room is nice and you get everything you need there. The breakfast is really good and the environment is nice as well! Caroline is very friendly and she gave us very good suggestions about the hiking path!! Just a bit inconvenient was we cannot store our luggage there after we checked out (we got afternoon train to Edinburgh). Caroline asked us to store in Backpacker where later on we found there is no reception and no one will keep an eye on it. As we do not want to waste the morning, we have no choice but to put our luggage in the Backpacker's corridor (which actually is not allowed as well) and pray they will be safe. It ruined a bit our mood when we went sight seeing that morning and we had to come back earlier in order to make sure our luggage were safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the White Rose.
Regarding leaving your luggage at the house after checkout - we often allow guests to leave their bags at the White Rose - especially if they are taking a later train - and we were sorry that we weren't able to look after your luggage on this occasion - as we had booked a meal out with family.
In the past, we have always been able to rely on the backpackers hostel to keep bags for travellers as it is very close to the station - and assumed they were still offering this free service. Thanks for the information - we will try and sort out an alternative for future guests.
We hope it won't put you off returning to the beautiful Lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the White Rose for two nights, the B&B is in a good location just 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained and the breakfast is very good.

Thankyou to Caroline the landlady who was very helpful and your breafast was great.

Bridget & Steve

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the White Rose, had a fantastic time,brekys was always hot and fresh and very plentiful.
Room was very nice with ensuite.
Attetion to etail was fantastic.
Our host was informative and very helpful.
would have no hesitations in recommeding this B&B
it is located within walking distance to all restraunts and pubs.

Room Tip: we had a rear room that was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbosarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thanks so much for leaving your comments on the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you both again in the beautiful Lakes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

A beautiful place, very clean, very confortable, lovely landlady and yumi yumi breakfast.
Located about five minutes walk from Windermere railway station, very convenient if one arrives by train, good parking facilities as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spain92051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast !!
It was lovely meeting you and hopefully we will see you again soon in the beautiful Lake District.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2011

A beautiful part of the world where we (a couple) stayed 2 nights for a wedding on the Saturday. On our arrival to the White Rose in Windermere we had a lovely welcome from Caroline and our room was fresh and clean. Breakfast was well presented and a great choice was offered. Caroline and Kevin were fantastic hosts offering warm hospitality and being very helpful in recommending walks and places to go to suit our needs.
We most certainly recommend to family & friends and will return when visiting Windermere again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
#89 of 107 in Windermere
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#55 of 107 in Windermere
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 107 in Windermere
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#23 of 107 in Windermere
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#59 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose

Property: White Rose
Address: Broad Street | Windermere. The Lake District. Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Alison would love to welcome you to the White Rose in Windermere where you can enjoy the lovely en-suite bedrooms with a large drink and nibble selection on our hospitality trays.Our delicious and traditional English breakfast will set you up for the day.Any dietry requirements catered for[Vegetarian,gluton free ect]Just let us know on booking. The house is close to the centre of Windermere village which has various restaraunts and cafes,we are only a 20 minute walk or a five minute drive from Bowness - where you can take a cruise around the Lake. Grasmere and Keswick are also within easy driving distance of the White Rose. We are a 5 minute walk from the train station for those arriving by train. There is a fantastic bus service which runs from Windermere to Ambleside grassmere keswick. Also tours with the mountain goat will pick you up from us for full or half day tours.Ten Lake tour, Hill top [Beatrix Potters farm] and a mountain tour.These tours are highly recomended. We offer special 3, 4 and 7 night deals throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Windermere
White Rose Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing