We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rose
Ranked #55 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the White Rose for two nights, the B&B is in a good location just 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained and the breakfast is very good.

Thankyou to Caroline the landlady who was very helpful and your breafast was great.

Bridget & Steve

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the White Rose, had a fantastic time,brekys was always hot and fresh and very plentiful.
Room was very nice with ensuite.
Attetion to etail was fantastic.
Our host was informative and very helpful.
would have no hesitations in recommeding this B&B
it is located within walking distance to all restraunts and pubs.

Room Tip: we had a rear room that was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbosarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thanks so much for leaving your comments on the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you both again in the beautiful Lakes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

A beautiful place, very clean, very confortable, lovely landlady and yumi yumi breakfast.
Located about five minutes walk from Windermere railway station, very convenient if one arrives by train, good parking facilities as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spain92051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast !!
It was lovely meeting you and hopefully we will see you again soon in the beautiful Lake District.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

A beautiful part of the world where we (a couple) stayed 2 nights for a wedding on the Saturday. On our arrival to the White Rose in Windermere we had a lovely welcome from Caroline and our room was fresh and clean. Breakfast was well presented and a great choice was offered. Caroline and Kevin were fantastic hosts offering warm hospitality and being very helpful in recommending walks and places to go to suit our needs.
We most certainly recommend to family & friends and will return when visiting Windermere again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

It was our anniversary whilst staying in Windermere and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. The location is excellent, service and hospitality is A1!!!! Rooms are spotless and lady of the B&B was lovely. We would definately recommend this B&B as we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and we hope you will revisit the beautiful Lake District - and the White Rose of course - very soon!!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Just spent two lovely days and nights at the White Rose with my mad mother in law and auntie, On arrival we were very spoilt and looked after by caroline. Rooms very nice and spotless, everything you would need at hand, even a spare corkscrew for emergencies.
Lots of suggestions to visit from caroline and only a phone call away if we got lost to be rescued. Breakfast very nice ,sausages to die for, and beautiful butter curls.
A big Thank you to caroline for making our visit very special, and we will definately be back soon.
Sonja, June & Moe

ps The LightHouse in windermere is the place for Great Food , we eat both nights

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docskeg-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the White Rose.
We loved meeting you all and are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves in the Lakes.
We hope to see you all again sometime!
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

we had 3 nights at the White Rose - friendly warm and welcoming sums it up! would definately go again.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks on your stay at the White Rose over the New Year. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will return to the Lakes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#51 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#19 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#9 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#30 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose

Property: White Rose
Address: Broad Street | Windermere. The Lake District. Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Alison would love to welcome you to the White Rose in Windermere where you can enjoy the lovely en-suite bedrooms with a large drink and nibble selection on our hospitality trays.Our delicious and traditional English breakfast will set you up for the day.Any dietry requirements catered for[Vegetarian,gluton free ect]Just let us know on booking. The house is close to the centre of Windermere village which has various restaraunts and cafes,we are only a 20 minute walk or a five minute drive from Bowness - where you can take a cruise around the Lake. Grasmere and Keswick are also within easy driving distance of the White Rose. We are a 5 minute walk from the train station for those arriving by train. There is a fantastic bus service which runs from Windermere to Ambleside grassmere keswick. Also tours with the mountain goat will pick you up from us for full or half day tours.Ten Lake tour, Hill top [Beatrix Potters farm] and a mountain tour.These tours are highly recomended. We offer special 3, 4 and 7 night deals throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Windermere
White Rose Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing