We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake District B &B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote How Lakeland Venue
Ranked #4 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Lake District B &B”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I cannot imagine a better B & B than this. It is beautifully situated by Rydal Water, with many walks from the front door. The food is delicious and organic: Caroline, the friendly and helpful owner, is involved with environmental issues, including red squirrels and using public transport where possible (there are good bus connections if your legs refuse to take you any further). We only stayed for 3 days, but will definitely be back! There is no shortage of things to do, and we alternated between walking, visiting Wordsworth's homes - both within walking distance - and trying out the local teas (Caroline's cakes are great at the end of a day's walking). The rooms are all large, comfortable and full of character; we felt really at home here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticCath995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed everything about Caroline's B and B. -from her tasty organic breakfasts, and super homemade afternoon teas,helpful tourist pointers , weather checks and walking suggestions not to mention the beautiful and spacious room (with organic products ).
The location is excellent - right in the heart of the hills and Lakes ( the property backs onto Lake Rydal ) and is opposite lovely Rydal Mount ,Wordsworth's home- near enough to Grasmere and Ambleside for eating out (yet away from the endless outdoor clothing shops and tearooms which now litter far too many Cumbrian towns )We would certainly return .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Brilliant location for walking, lovely and quiet, extremely spacious and beautifully appointed rooms (suites rather than rooms), Caroline the owner was helpfulness personified, log fires in the breakfast room in the mornings, excellent breakfast and a very characterful old house. It clearly did not suite the people who reviewed it on 8/2/12 but I am genuinely mystified how they can have come to the conclusions they did. Their comments bear no relation to our experience and the experience of the vast majority of other people who stayed. If you have a choice of rooms the Rydal has the best view and is probably the biggest but the other two are very nice too. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rydal is probably the nicest but they are all spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not only a beautiful house, immaculately clean and tidy, in a gorgeous part of the world - but I could not have been made to feel more at home by the owner Caroline. Fabulous, gorgeous breakfast (the sausages!!), very helpful guidance for walking and on where to eat and drink. Very well placed for walking - Ambleside at brisk walking distance; excellent pub and the nicer of the Wordsworth houses across the road. I could not speak of my visit here more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saturdayboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Cote Howe on our honeymoon and it was delightful! Incredible landscapes and great walking, an incredible complementary afternoon cream tea, and a lovely warm welcome. We stayed in the large suite which featured an incredible "tub with a view" - complete with candlelight and perfect for a magical sunset soak. Ridiculously bountiful home cooked veggie English breakfast. A wonderful inn in an extraordinary piece of countryside - this was one of the highlights of our trip, even though we were both sick with colds!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashiya, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the Rydal Suite for 4 nights; we liked it so much that we stayed there for another 3 nights! Everything was more than perfect!
Every morning before breakfast, we enjoyed both the beautiful lake (Rydal Water) and the garden (Rydal Hall). There are also nice footpaths to Grasmere and Ambleside. The Rydal Mount is within an easy walk of the Cote How.
Organic breakfast was just wonderful. For lunch and afternoon tea, you can enjoy vegetable soup, sandwiches, and of course scones and other cakes. On sunny days, we loved to eat in the garden.
The room was extremely comfortable and quiet. Caroline (the owner) was kind and friendly.
We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNU1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed for four nights, made to feel at home straight away by Caroline. Great friendly family feel to the place. All of the guest areas very nicely finished with new windows all round. My room - the Rydal - very spacious with a bath as deep as the Marianas trench! The breakfasts are yummy, mountainous and keep you going all day. During the day Cote How has a tea room operating inside and outside in the attractive grounds - with homemade cakes and buns to reward a hard days slog up the hills. RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: All rooms have an equally splendid view, but Rydal room probably just pips it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
0.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote How Lakeland Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote How Lakeland Venue

Property: Cote How Lakeland Venue
Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LW, England (Formerly Cote How Organic Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive, unique and romantic Lakeland venue with five star accommodation, naturally secluded by river fell and woodland. Cote How specialises in small intimate celebrations of all kinds. Exclusive use of our historical 16th century venue also includes four acres of grounds, with an adjacent field down to the lake shore of Rydal Water, the Bluebell woods and the River Rothay. A picturesque wooden footbridge leads to Rydal church just 200m away. There are few lakeland venues with such a picture perfect location for your wedding or special occasion. NOTE: we no longer offer single room B and B but can offer whole house exclusivity for short breaks and weekends minimum 6 adult bookings. Please telephone to make an enquiry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cote How Lakeland Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote How Lakeland Venue Rydal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing