We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dammed good deal”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dammed good deal”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We booked through an Amazon deal for a 2 night stay for us, our son, his wife & two children. The extremely good value deal included a superb evening meal, excellent full breakfasts on both mornings and free access to a local spa in another hotel for 2 days. Rooms were good and warm and the staff very friendly. The hotel has old character charm and evening entertainment included the opportunity to watch badgers feeding (despite the poor weather) and live music.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    130
    34
    24
    17
See reviews for
74
285
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked our two night mini break with a voucher from Amazon Local. Because of the offer on Amazon I had to adjust my dates as well as upgrade to a luxury room, no standard room was available for the time I wanted. I was a bit apprehensive paying the upgrade was in the end was glad I did. We stayed in Room 8, which they called Dora's Room, it was a very spacious room with a four poster bed and the furniture is really old furniture. You don't get the "Holiday Inn" look.

We arrived and were made very welcome by Jay, the barman. We tasted some really good ale and the food was good. My husband can recommend the Steak and Ale Pie and I had the Hunter's Chicken. Breakfast in the morning was equally good, our full English breakfast had nothing missing.

All this included four vouchers for a nearby spa, two for each of us, which we only used on one day, The day beforehand we spent walking in the fells.

I can highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back. Had it not been for some personal misfortune of mine (no fault of the hotel) my stay would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Dora's room is at the back and very quiet, it's also one of the superior rooms with a four p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stopped in the Glen Rothay Hotel in October on an Amazon package and had a wonderful time. We paid extra for an evening meal which we decided to use on the first night but the food we received was so good that we decided to eat here again on the second night. The food choice was excellent in the hotel dining room which was very relaxing as was our huge room complete with four poster bed. There is ample parking space outside, the staff are very helpful and the hotel is ideally situated to visit many of the nearby attractions of the Lake District and surrounding areas.
All in all if you want to escape for a mini break this could be just the answer and I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We paid an extra supplement for a larger room with a four poster bed which I think is excellent valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have never stayed anywhere so relaxing and charming. The room, Kentmere, was huge and had everything, including a large separate bathroom, with both bath and shower separate.
The food was beautiful and the portions plenty. There was a choice of cooked breakfasts each morning as well as cereal and toast.
We have never experienced such helpful, pleasant, happy staff. They did everything to make our stay both enjoyable and relaxed, especially Caroline, any request we made, no matter how big or small was met. We actually stayed an extra night and will definitely be returning. Our three nights left us thoroughly refreshed and rejuvenated.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crossy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

had two night stay ,comfortable room , really pleasant staff.we ate in both nights really good food+ lovely breakfast. really enjoyed our stay would recomend to anyone.we went on an amazon package but would be happy to pay full price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightblue1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stopped for lunch here at the Badger Bar. Wonderful for walkers. It was quiet when we arrived, but soon filled up with people and dogs. The barmaid was chatty and pleasant. I still can't get over the ladies toilets- spotless with hand cream provided! The sandwiches were made with tender ham and soft fresh bread. The chips were brilliant. Perfect place to break for lunch

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just had a couple of nights at this unique Hotel...this is our second stay on the 'Amazon' package. First visit was in Dora's room, this time we had the largest room which was huge, full of charm and had everything we needed including a superb bathroom with a gorgeous roll top bath! The food is stunning, breakfast top quality ( salmon blini's are yum) and the evening meal was to die for! The team are very friendly and welcoming....the rooms are spotlessly clean. We also had spa passes for Langdale Spa which we thoroughly enjoyed. If you want a break that is quirky, cosy, satisfying (esp...the food and ales) and filled with great memories - chose this charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueShellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Property: Glen Rothay Hotel
Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing