We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely weekend stay”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want high tech, all mod cons and superior decor this is not the hotel for you. However, if you value cleanliness, good food and friendly staff this hotel is most definitely worth visiting. On first arriving my husband and I were not at all sure what we had let ourselves in for. At the end of our two night stay we both agreed that we had thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was delivered in large portions and the homemade burgers were to die for. We had planned to eat elsewhere on our second night but were so impressed by our meal on the first night that we stayed in to dine. Our view would be to give it a go especially as the hotel is also so convenient for some very good walks and local attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear joyann1,

Thanks for writing a review - and thank you also for your kind comments about the hotel, the staff and the food.

Hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 499 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 2 Nights on a Groupon Offer on our way back from a lovely week in Scotland. The room was awful !!!!!!!!!!!!! The breakfast was average and we got told off by the waitress for being late (which we weren't).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MCG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear MCG1953,

Wrong Hotel...!!!

I'd normally thank people for writing a review of my hotel, but as we haven't run a Groupon offer for nearly three years, I realise that you have reviewed the wrong hotel by mistake...

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here in July on an Amazon local deal and absolutely loved it. The room was large and comfortable and the whole building just had character. The 3-course meal we had was superb, and we ate at the hotel again the night after because it was so good. There was an excellent selection of beers and wine to wash the ace food down with as well. A word of warning about the beer garden - wear midge repellent if sitting out late, and if you go out to watch the badgers, because we got feasted on!!! Breakfast was spot on and the service from everyone was brilliant.

The thing that we loved the most was the location. Rydal Water and Grasmere are gorgeous and we got a lovely walk up Loughrigg Fell. I cannot wait to return to this amazing place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Amanda M,

What can I say about such a great review - Thank You..!!

It's really heartening to receive comments like these - I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We first used this hotel in 2012 with a Groupon type offer and were impressed. We left our contact details and were emailed another unbeatable offer. We stayed. For 2 nights B&B. in July in 2013. A very friendly hotel with a great bar sieving guest ales. Good selection of bar food. Rooms large clean and comfortable. The breakfast made fresh to order with local produce was a real treat. Every evening the local badgers visit the gardens a truly amazing sight. Will be a regular visitor to this little gem

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear GymfreakSkipton,

Thanks for your review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your return visit to see us. Thank you for your kind comments about the various aspects of your stay - it's really appreciated.

Hope we will see you again before too long.

Kind regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We received a lovely warm welcome from the staff who showed us to our room. The room was a good size and the bathroom was adequate. There were a few cobwebs in the room, but everything else was clean and tidy.

The breakfast ws excellent and the food at the badger bar was excellent. We also saw loads of badgers in the evening and now understand why its called the badger bar! The atmosphere was great and the deal we got from Amazon Local was fantastic value for money. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Julie G,

Thanks for writing a review and your lovely comments about the room and the food. (So sorry about the cobwebs...!)

Hope to see you again :)

Kind regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on an Amazon Local deal and got a very reasonable price indeed. £130 for two nights, with one breakfast, one three course meal and two day passes to a local spa, which was lovely. The package was amazingly priced!

The rooms were slightly dated but in that charming way that makes you feel like you're staying at your nan's. Beds lovely and comfy, and all the amenities you'd want.

Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, and the three-course meal we had was miles better than the so-called gastro-pub we went to in Ambleside on our second night.

The location is lovely; we cycled from Windermere on a main road route all the way to the hotel's front doorstep, then took the scenic route on the way back. The scenery is breathtaking all around and we loved exploring on the bikes. The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy peace and quiet as well as being close to towns like Ambleside for access to restaurants, cafes and shops.

Very excited to come back to the Glen Rothay - staff incredibly helpful and friendly, and the entire stay was a pleasure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ullswater room; a simple double that does the job. We heard some of the more execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fateiskind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear fateiskind,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, the food, the staff and the room!

I hope we can welcome you back really soon.

Kind regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent value; good beers; imaginatively-varied menu. Friendly staff. prompt service with a caring smile. We will visit again whenever we are in the area. It can be easy to miss as you are driving if you are heading towards Keswick, but look out for the A-board on the grass verge just outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Keith K,

Thanks a lot for writing a review of your visit to the Badger Bar - it's appreciated.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your food and of course the beers, and thanks too for your kind comments about the staff.

Please drop in again when you're passing!

Regards,

Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
578 reviews
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range: $82 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing