We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable few days”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable few days”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Glen Rothay last week and had a lovely break in a characterful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choices to suit all tastes (I recommend the porridge!). Our room was large and comfortable. We also thought it very generous of the hotel to offer free use of a luxury spa and swimming pool about 6 miles away in Langdale where we went twice. We will certainly stay there again and maybe get to see the badgers next time! My husband loved the choice of real ales in the Badger Bar.
We find some of the comments about the hotel to be very petty and negative. For the Wowcher price it is amazing value. If anyone has decided not to book or has cancelled a visit after reading them then you have missed a treat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jean B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review - like you we are sometimes surprised about comments that appear here, so it's lovely to read such positive words!

Thank you for your comments about the staff, the food and the ale - three things we pride ourselves on! I am also glad you enjoyed the use of the Spa; I believe our relationship with the Langdale Estate offers guests a lovely extra so it was great to read you enjoyed their facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    130
    34
    24
    17
See reviews for
74
285
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On our holiday for a week in Ambleside with our family. It was a must visit after it had been seen in a review in the Telegraph. We had a very nice meal and actually visitied again to end our holiday. The Lemon Chicken Supreme was a deffinate like.

Perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Helen C,

Thank you so much for your review - I am glad you enjoyed the food here enough to visit twice - we have recently enhanced our menu to include both pub grub and opportunities to enjoy some more unusual freshly prepared dishes, so it was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed it.

I hope we can welcome you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We've stayed here 3 times now, and I have to say we love it. The location's lovely by the Lake and all, but what swings it for us is a) the staff's genuine friendliness - not too matey, but just real and there to help; b) the beer's beautifully kept, and changes often; and c) the 2 different bedrooms we've had, and the public rooms are clean, cute, cosy, and warm. I think I've had a moan once - coffee was a bit cold when they were really busy once that's all - and just replaced straight away with a "ooh, sorry about that". I'd really recommend the place, they do some good deals too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jed C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and also for your kind comments about staff, beer etc.

I am very glad you enjoy the atmosphere we create here - as I keep saying, we're not your corporate boxy hotel but we like to think we do the friendliness and character well enough to keep people coming back...!

So - I hope we can welcome you back here soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are looking for a generic hotel with uniform rooms and chain trained faceless staff this is perhaps not the place for you. However if like us you wanted something a little more quirky with character (staff as well as hotel) give this place a try. This is an old building which has undergone what look like some recent updates (everyone should visit the ladies toilet)... what has been done has been done well. The food we had was excellent, a huge choice and some quite unusual additions (in a good way) to normal pub grub. Overall very welcoming and to be fair great value for money. Yes there are bits of decor/carpet that could be improved... but the friendliness and quality of food and drink made up for that by far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoniaL139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SoniaL139,

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about recent improvements, food/drink and friendliness.

Renovations are continuing, funds permitting(!) so I hope you can come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked at the last minute on Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August and only for 1 night. Had been once before a long time ago but never stayed. Loved the huge room, and the huge bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was dated. However the hotel looked like it was in the process of being done up so maybe they will be doing the rooms one by one. We forgot to book a table to eat in the evening but the staff said they would fit us in even though they were really busy. We opted to eat in the bar to save time and it was quite a good atmosphere being full of walkers and families and dogs! Thought the food was a bit pricey for pub food but had no complaints with the quality of the meals. Loved the staff who were over worked but incredibly friendly and seeing the badgers at the end of the night just made our stay. Oh and hubby liked the ales. Might stay again one day to see if things have changed...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitbat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear fruitbat49,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

You are absolutely correct that we are updating the rooms one by one - it is a large undertaking as I'm sure you are aware, and we cannot do it all at once.

Thank you for your kind comments about loving the room, the huge (and comfortable) bed and the quality of the meals - and I am very glad your 'hubby' enjoyed some of our local ales!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glen Rothay soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have used the bar many times over the years as a lunch time stop off during a walk, it's never been great but is now awful. No one seems to care, gents toilet like a third world facility, appalling, eating outdoors with ashtrays on the table full of dog ends and flooded with rainwater.. Food poor, service casual to the point of absence. Will have to find a new lunch venue, or keep walking to Grasmere, for real food and service..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Patrick075,

Thank you for your recent review. Passing over the minor negatives such as finding cigarette ends in an ashtray (God forbid), I am at a loss to understand what was 'poor' about the food - we have recently introduced a new menu that has widely been received extremely positively by many, many people - I was hoping to have found out that you spoke with the staff at the time, but after speaking with them, I have been unable to track down any reported problems.

These things are much better dealt with at the time I find, as by the time you get home, whilst it is easy to write on TripAdvisor for all to see, there is nothing that we can do personally to help with any issue that may have arisen. I would urge any readers that we are always extremely happy to deal with comments at the time...

I'm very upset that Grasmere will be receiving your custom from now on...

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lybster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a day trip into The Lakes, we visited The Glen Rothay hotel to enjoy a pint of real ale in the Badgers Bar and check out whether this would be a place we would come to for a weekend away. We are so glad we took this opportunity (having read previous reviews on this site) because we certainly wont be coming back to stay.
The entrance porch is not just grubby but mouldy and in desperate need of some serious TLC. Whilst the entrance hall has been freshly carpeted and decorated the strident stripes of the carpet are not in keeping with the building - shame. The smell of cooking fat greets you as you enter the front door and pervades throughout the property - with the exception of the ladies loo perhaps. Looking into the dining room we were surprised to find a bare boards floor and disco balls for lights. Curious decor choices.
The Badger Bar was a delight in terms of quality of ale and quite rightly deserves an accolade for the quality of ale sold. However we really did not enjoy the shabby furnishings.
One highlight was the fireplace in the adjacent room - a fascinating piece well worth investigation.
The Ladies toilets were highlighted to us as being of interest and that they certainly were. After we were impressed with the clever creation of a toilet facility around a rock face we then wondered when they had last been wiped down. The air was distinctly damp / earthy smelling suggesting the rock face has not been sealed. The cobwebs sported in the cubicles and the lack of toilet paper supplies did not endear the facility to us.

Sorry Glen Rothay, we will not be coming back to stay with you, if the public areas are such a disappointment what on earth would we find in the more private areas? This location, this building has so much potential - what a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnatCroftHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHManager, General Manager at Glen Rothay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Catrona G,

Thank you for your review. Your purely subjective comments on our lovely new carpet and crystal globe chandeliers in the dining room are noted, and I am glad to say, in the minority - people love them. They are thrilled we have not just replaced like with like and reintroduced the dowdy, boring hotel carpets and lighting that one or two odd people seem to prefer (but can be found anywhere).

I can confirm the rock face in the Ladies has been sealed.

Thank you for your kind and positive comments about the ale, the toilets and the fireplace - I am glad we are doing something right!

I'm so sorry we won't be seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Property: Glen Rothay Hotel
Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing