We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stayed! Never wanted to.”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
English Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never stayed! Never wanted to.”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I always hesitate when writing something BAD. After all, there's loads of people that SWOON over the place; come back year-after-year.

My definition of "Bad" is aimed at the general market for what is "Good", rather than the crowd that adore scratching, smelly, farting dogs round the fire of the Badger Bar ... and savour the odour of a really filthy carpet. If you tick 'success' to a Gents that might as well be one of the beers on offer because it's so close to the action - get in there and LOVE IT!

This is one of those strange Cumbrian success stories: it looks lovely, situated perfectly ... and then the reality. It's a fetid dump: like around 60% of Lake District places to stay, drink, eat.

WHY DO THEY DO THIS TO US??

The place could be marvellous. The bar staff are the Staff of Life (I mean that: they are really nice, very experienced blokes) ... the beers are excellent ... but if you are booking, unseen, on the Net, and have travelled from Surrey, or the Hook of Holland: you might be horrified, your wife in tears, your kids wearing gas masks.

As for the dining room ... I never went further than the glass panelled door.

Need I say more?

But I have supped my pint there [Badger Bar] amongst Lakeland disciples - good time had by all ... if you relish that rotting-meat stench of wet walking gear - and the rest of the Lake District Five Star Image ... DON'T LISTEN TO ME!! Book three weeks.

Be careful, tourists from afar. The prices are high, the standards are low: and THEY COULDN'T GIVE A DAMN.

That, in my book, is worth complaining about.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobeEightyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    135
    37
    24
    17
See reviews for
76
295
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Booked to saty here for 2 nights on spec, we were upgraded to a fab room, they catered brilliantly for my wheat free needs, going above and beyond what was required, the food was great, the beers well kept and a great choice, nothing was too much trouble :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CragRat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We visited the hotel over the christmas period and had a good stay. Upon arrival we were taken to our room and there was a sewage smell. We went out for the day and when returned later in the day the smell had become worse so we went to the bar and explained it. We were moved to the most expensive suite (as all that was left). It was a fantastic size and we had a big four poster bed, corner bath and a sitting area. It was clean but unfortunately some areas of the room needed updating/replacing. The bathroom has carpet in it which had large stains on it (it was like the colour had faded out so probably bleach) and wallpaper was coming off the wall in lots of places. Had we of paid the full price of this room we would have been unhappy. The bar is a great area and we sat by the open fire and played scrabble (provided by them). The staff are very helpful and friendly and we were moved without any hesitation from the first smelly room, although one member of staff felt we could have stayed in the smelly room as it was probably from spilled milk (more like a blocked drain) personally feel the hotel relies on wonderful suroundings and not trying to impress with the decore and finishes of the hotel.

Room Tip: needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnaby87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Great to see local establishment genuinely interested in the area's wildlife. Excellent veggie breakfasts on request. Badgers forever.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsettClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed for 4 days and had a most enjoyable break in mixed weather.
Excellent location at the end of Rydalwater, attractive building and attractive (beer) garden. Breakfasts were good and all the food that we had was very good and excellent value. Well stocked bar and 3 Camra beers always on pump changed regularly - tried 6 !

Room was large and comfortable with big bathroom and plenty hot water.
Staff are polite, friendly and attentive.
Badgers are fed nightly in the garden - not to be missed.

O.K. the hotel could do with some TLC and updating and is not for those who expect modern, inpersonable atmospheres and uniformed staff and level floors!. However, I am confident that it appeals to those visitors who appreciate the charm of the real Lake District and does have many repeat guests. Some of the TLC is happening and the hotel has plans to update the foyer in 2011.
.
We also took advantage of the hotels free complimentary membership of the nearby Langdale Spa great for an evening swin and sauna after walking or visiting/touring.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1096726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I'll do this in terms of the impression in chronological order. Nice looking building in lovely location, awful peeling damp vestibule, tatty reception which looked like a storage cupboard, old fashioned faded decor, smiley staff, shabby but warm, clean comfy room, hot water and tasty breakfast. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had one of the best meals I have had in a long time at the Badger Bar last summer. It was around 7:30pm when we arrived and very quiet. The friendly barman said he would check if the chef was still available to cook us a meal and luckily for us he was!
We had passed by earlier in the day and were struck by the really quaint sign with the badgers on outside and thought to ourselves we would try to find our way back there again later.
After a day negotiating the Lakeland hills and the Hardknott Roman Fort we had really worked up an appetite and the Badger Bar seemed very appealing.
The decor in the bar is lovely and cosy and full of character, I especially liked the 'rules of the inn' sign beside the bar. The modern toilets were a huge surprise and so luxurious!
My husband had chilli for his meal and I had Texan chicken, both meals were absolutely delicious, freshly cooked and generous helpings, definately the best meal of our Lake District holiday.
We are hoping to get back down to the Lake District again soon and when we do this is where we plan to stay and we are very much looking forward to it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enchantedtoadstool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Property: Glen Rothay Hotel
Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing