We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing, with food that has little to do with Mexico”

Salsa Mexican Bistro
Ranked #32 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, with food that has little to do with Mexico”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We ate here one quiet night, with little atmosphere. A bit of atmosphere and a few tequilas might have made it more acceptable, but a few plastic cactus and sombreros hung on the wall doesn't make a restaurant mexican

I found the food bland and completely unauthentic, and I doubt that whoever prepared it had ever eaten real mexican food. You could do better yourself with mexican food from the supermarket as everything tasted like it may have come from a packet anyway.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garfield56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    20
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salsa shocking”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Couldent be more Mexican if they wore sombreros and ran around like speedy Gonzales.
Service = shocking
Food = worse than shocking
Value = None
Encalada from Iceland maybe?
Meet balls made in a home economics class maybe? Not sure how much market research was put into this place , but it needs overhauled, stripped back and plastered with authenticity, great service and a menu they can actually call Mexican.This meal, on our final day of holiday destroyed the fantastic week we just had.Will never return and will tell as many people I know going to Cumbria to avoid this Cafe like there respect for food depended on it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good Mexican if you're looking for a change from a pub”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed near to Penrith and were looking for something other than pub meals. The staff were very attentive and our boys enjoyed the ambience. A little salsa music broke the feel of the British weather!
I had burrito and my husband and boys had fajitas. I can only really say the food was ok. The burrito had meat and plain rice with bland lettuce. It really needed a good sauce for a bit of a kick.
We had nachos to start but the choice of cheese was wrong which had turned plasticky and stuck all the nachos together.
Having said that we did enjoy our evening out. Just don't expect top notch fresh Mexican. Just enjoy it for what it is. A good family meal with great staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenjacranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
2 reviews
“cooked to my taste”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

i go to penrith, to eat 2 times a year ,.on my camping holidays in the lakes . and i can say this is the best place to eat ,. i have been in the other , but will be going back to this mexican bistro

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wil12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Located in Penrith town centre, quality of food was good, prices were reasonable too. The menu is not very extensive so this could be improved to add further meal options but overall, an excellent food quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frohlich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Bistro also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing