We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Stately home suitable for large parties”

Review of Morland House

Morland House (front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden) Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden)
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Admiral's Room
General's Room
Archbishop's Room
Geographer's Room
Landing Library
Back Landing
Games Room
Back Hall
Kitchen
Wooden Bridge (in garden)
Engineer's Room
Explorer's Room
Canon's Room
Colonel's Room
Minna's Room
Front Stairs
Inner Hall
Outer Hall
Looking along the beck in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nickv732
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Stately home suitable for large parties”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A large group of us (18 adults) stayed in this beautiful accommodation for a weekend. The house itself is steeped in history and is decorated with many original paintings and artefacts. We enjoyed the spacious gardens, nearby river and the excellent cafe next door and reasonable pub opposite. Excellent facilities for cooking for large groups, a large dining hall, multiple bathrooms and a games room with pool table. We were able to use as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue G
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best long weekend ever”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was for my Fiancé's 50th Birthday. What a fantastic time, this is an amazing house filled with history, with so many interesting items, the display cabinets full of wonderful things, items in cupboards you just didn't expect. Could have easily spent a week not a weekend, nobody in my party wanted to leave. On the Friday it was just my partner and I, we discovered all sorts of things and allocated the beautiful bedrooms for our guests, explored some of the gardens, and we spent a lovely evening with the fire lit in the drawing room. On the Saturday we had a fantastic meal in the dining room cooked by the Kites from Mill Yard Café (which was amazing), followed by lots of wine and a pub quiz in the drawing room. On the Sunday we all had a brilliant breakfast in the kitchen, explored the grounds and did a walk round the village up a hill and back through some woods (we got soaked) ordered a Chinese takeaway so we could all enjoy the dining room again, in the evening we played cards against humanity, a slightly outrageous card game. The house was filled with laughter the entire time, brilliant weekend had by us all, I'm sure we will be back, and we have all just been recommending it to everyone since, and are still talking about it now! We did intend to play croquet, on the beautiful croquet lawn just ran out of time.
Thank you so much to the Markham family for sharing such an amazing place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The whole weekend, the amazing things in the house
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house and grounds ”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I recently organised a large reunion party for friends at Morland house and everything exceeded my expectations. The house is steeped in history and filled with curiosities, and the garden and grounds are beautiful and extremely well looked after. Everyone was blown away with the location and house and we were lucky to enjoy fantastic weather. For large groups who enjoy a bit of history and country life, this is a great place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn A
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant trip back in time, an amazing adventure enjoyed by adults and children”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a superb house and home a step back in time, a truly magical place for adults and children alike.

Would love to return for another magical experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house it's history the grounds and location
Liked least: Having to leave it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
levis0501
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fantastic property for Groups!”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Morland House in February 2016 for a family members 40th birthday weekend. We were a group of 9 adults and 10 children aged 6 weeks to 11 years!

The house is amazing, large, comfortable and clean but above all interesting! There were 'things' to look at and read and use all over the place and the children especially loved it. There is plenty of space for everyone and never felt crowded, the kitchen is equipped for large groups and all of the bedrooms and bathrooms were good quality. The games room was brilliant and the children loved the pool table which was of good quality.

One downside to such an old house is that the baby monitors didn't work as the walls are so think, although this does help with sound insulation when they are in bed!

The gardens were lovely and although the weather wasn't the best, we had a lovely time exploring. There are a number of walks that you can do starting from the house so no need to take the car out which was good. We did 2 of them and they were great fun. The main gardens are open to the public and there were quite a few visitors, which we didn't mind at all. The door to the private (and secluded) garden next to the kitchen was stuck though which wasn't ideal as we had to let the dogs out through the main front door.

The owner was very helpful and kindly returned some clothing we had mistakenly left behind.

However, one of the children broke a small bowl which we duly notified the owner about in accordance with the policy. The charge for this one small bowl was £100!! I was shocked by this as the house is clearly designed for use by families and so I was surprised that such a valuable item was out on show (and it was one of literally hundreds in the house) and was positioned right next to the lounge door so was easily knocked off by accident.

It was really a lovely property though and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay here. I would definitely go back - but would probably move any valuable looking items away from heavy traffic areas!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The gardens
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous house - great for large grouos”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many houses for up to 18 people over the last 15 years and we all agreed this was the best we've found. So much so that we've already booked our return visit. The house is in a lovely area for walks and has wonderful gardens to enjoy. All the bedrooms are a generous size and the beds are very comfortable - apart from one which Freddy has promised to replace if he hasn't done already! The dining room and the drawing room both easily seat 18 comfortably and the log fires make them feel extra cosy. The house is filled with fascinating things and the modern kitchen is very well equipped. The showers are all nice and powerful which is always a good thing. We usually bring our own provisions but this year we ordered online from Sainsburys who delivered without any problems. They said they've delivered there a few times previously. Freddy was very informative and welcoming and we are already looking forward to our next visit later this year. Thanks again Freddy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denfacer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Morland House for a family celebration over the Easter holiday. Although the weather and journey from Birmingham was disappointing the house most certainly was not.

The house held everybody's interest all weekend and we wish we had booked for the week. The bedrooms were all different and full of character, warm and inviting and very comfortable, the kitchen was fully equipped and easily catered for all our needs, and the games room provided a great place to relax and enjoy some family time.

Despite the inclement weather we all took a walk around the expansive gardens, and courtyard, and although the house is large it always felt quite homely.

Our final complement must go to the owner Freddy Markham, who was not only easy to deal with but also very accommodating when one of our party had vehicle problems.

All in all our only regret was that we were only there for 3 nights and that the time of year and inclement weather prevented us from full utilising the grounds and surrounding countryside.

If you are ever looking for a large holiday rental with plenty of character and comfort then do not hesitate to visit Morland House, because you will never stay anywhere like it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all just awesome
Liked least: The hellish journey
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing