We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant criticism”

Tea Room at The Watermill
Ranked #88 of 170 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Welcome to The Watermill, where everything you eat or drink has been produced by organic or biodynamic farmers and growers. They are all very dedicated, growing and making everything with great care, and we think you’ll find it shows in the delicious taste and quality of our food.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am reluctant to write anything negative in the face of such a number of glowing reviews, and expect to have my head bitten off, but our experience was not that great. Granted, we have only been once and it might have been an off morning. There were indeed good points - homely decor,organically grown produce, home milled flour, nice pottery, free range chickens - all things we admire and believe in. BUT it is important not to trade on these beliefs by producing expensive goods and services whose quality may not warrant the cost.

We visited on a Saturday morning, the only visitors at the time: this seemed to have the effect on the three staff of making them think we weren't there and couldn't hear them talking( loudly). The subject of their discussion was embarrassing from an employer's point of view and should never have been heard by a visitor. This suggests that the employers might consider paying more attention to their employees' wellbeing and also giving them better training on how to behave around the public.

We had a fruit scone and cup of coffee each. The coffee was okay, served in a capacious cafetiere and nice big cups. The scones were very dry and tasted too strongly of raising agent, an old mistake many of us made when first learning to bake with wholemeal flour, but not expected from professional cooks. With them came a small dish of very nice homemade jam (you were charged extra for this) and two little marbles of butter, one of mine slightly off.

Everyone should be given a second chance and it wasn't so awful we would never go again, but we wouldn't go out of our way. Luckily we don't live very near!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Venusjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Front Office Manager at Tea Room at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We have taken on board what you said regarding your visit to our Tearoom in July and are naturally very sorry you felt everything wasn't up to our usual high standard - we hope you will enjoy your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to the Watermill after reading the Tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed! It has a pretty limited menu but everything was delicious, and vegetarian friendly too, and served in locally made pottery cups and saucers and plates! We had the cheese plate, the rarebit and some toast and butter, as well as two portions of damson bakewell tart, served with yoghurt. It was all absolutely delicious! Lots of different salads accompanied the savoury courses and the tarts were to die for! They sell lots of lovely quirky things in the shop, a lot of organic foodstuffs and of course, all of their different flours and their by products. We enjoyed their traffic control methods too..... in the form of lots of chickens, ducks and little chicks! Worth a visit if just to watch the mill at work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolineDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Front Office Manager at Tea Room at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We now have more chicks, who love to chase the mill's resident cat Baker!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Called here on a beautiful sunny day to find the place much as I remembered from my last visit about 25 years ago. Ordered soup, scones, cake and tea, all came served on hand thrown pottery and everything was very fresh and really, really good. We sat at the benches outside and watched the chickens and soaked up the the sunshine and atmosphere, this is a place well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Public Relations Manager at Tea Room at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Glad to say the sun is still shining today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Called here on a beautiful sunny day to find the place much as I remembered from my last visit about 25 years ago. Ordered soup, scones, cake and tea, all came served on hand thrown pottery and everything was very fresh and really, really good. We sat at the benches outside and watched the chickens and soaked up the the sunshine and atmosphere, this is a place well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

12 of us arrived by arrangement for a tour of the mill and a cuppa, on 20th May 2013; The view down t'hill from Lazonby was not encouraging - water everywhere! As we turned into the drive we were met by Nick, who explained that the tear room was flooded, but that they 'had made arrangements'.

We proceeded with our tour (fascinating) and adjourned upstairs for tea in the (temporarily relocated) tearoom. They were still baling out downstairs, but nothing stops these people! the biggest teapot i have ever seen, refilled on request, and superb scones etc.

Big friendly Cumbrian welcome, a wealth of information, and a great place to go for teas etc.

We will be back (if you can face the thought!)

Andy Shepherd

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Room at The Watermill also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Tea Room at The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing