We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for lakes”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cowshed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skyeheidi...
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal base for lakes”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for five nights in this lovely little cottage, it was very convenient for our sorties into the Lake District. Plenty of walks locally for our spaniel and close enough to walk into Penrith. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very convenient for everywhere we wanted to visit
Liked least: Our stay was to short
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed the Cowshed I hope you will come back one day.
Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseBar...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very homely.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My partner and I have recently returned from our stay at the Cowshed and had a marvellous time! The property is very homely and we felt very comfortable and cosy. It is clean and well presented throughout and has a lot of quirky details. I would highly recommend this property for a visit to the Lake District.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you for your positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and that you had beautiful spring weather that week
Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniefrom...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My teenage daughter and I were visiting from Australia and stayed here from the end of November 2014 until end of January 2015 apart from one week over New Year. The property was very clean, warm and cosy with everything you could need or want provided.

There were some issues with the boiler however these were rectified with speed and little disruption to our holiday. The owners were very friendly and attentive when needed and always very prepared to help when needed.

My only niggle I found the mattress very hard and uncomfortable but a small price to pay to stay in such a convenient, cosy home away from home.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness, location and cleanliness
Liked least: Mattress
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
Thank you for your review and sorry about the boiler but we now have a new one,as for the mattress you can't please everyone but if you had told me I could have provided a topper which could have helped thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dottyabou...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

...Stayed here for three nights and had an absolute wonderful time. Cottage was spotlessly clean and full of character, a real credit to the owners. Penrith town centre is a few minutes walk away with a good array of shops and places to eat and drink. Excellent base for touring about and so nice and cosy to come back to at the end of the day.....can recommend this property without any hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and excellent location
Liked least: Coming home !!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks I hope you will come back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed four nights and from booking which was easy to arriving all was as expected, excellent. We were well looked after. Rooms warm, cozy and spacious. Well placed for walking into Penrith and travelling out to Ullswater or Derwentwater etc. Highly recommended for couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality, decor and location to town
Liked least: occasional trafficnoise during the day but nothing to wake you
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hide-away”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My review is very long overdue but I have been keeping an eye out for The Cowshed and hoping that it would appear on Trip Advisor one day.

My boyfriend and I stayed at here in November last year and we had a wonderful time. Being honest, there isn't loads to do in Penrith itself but we found it to be a great base to explore the Lake District as neither of us knows it particularly well.

The cottage is very cosy and was perfect for two of us. I can also so that the bed was the most comfortable that either of us had slept in and as a direct result of that trip we both went out and invested in quilts and pillows of the same high quality so we could enjoy a little 'Cowshed' luxury at home :)

The own is a very nice lady and call me a few weeks before our stay to express a little concern that there was a tenant vacating on the day of our arrival and so there might not have been the time to turn it around and get it ship-shape before we got there. If that was the case then I can't imagine what 'usual standards' would be like as the cleanliness couldn't be faulted. I also seem to recall that there was even a pint of milk in the fridge which was a welcome addition for my boyfriend who struggles to go for an hour without a cup of tea.

The only super small thing we would have liked was a bigger softer sofa but that's only because we like to lounge around while watching TV in the evening.

In summary, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Cowshed to anyone.

(Sorry again to Mrs Horn for taking so long to review.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Detached nature of the property made it feel very private
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2014
Thank you very much I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing