We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Brandelhow Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brandelhow Guest House
Ranked #27 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“holiday”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

just came back from 4 days in the lake district and we stopped at the brandelhow.what a superb place . we was greeted with tea and home made cakes ,just what you want after a long journey. the bedrooms are fantastic with king size beds which you can sleep on for days.the breakfast is really special with fruit and yoghurts,cereals and a lovely full english.everywhere is spotless and for the price you will be hard pressed to beat it.wished we could have stayed for another week.10 out of 10 .hosts are brilliant thank you.

Room Tip: room was at the back overlooking church.king size beds in that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 927david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    6
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
45
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Highly recommended. Very friendly owners. Greeted with a very welcome drink and home made cakes on arrival before being shown to our rooms. Beautiful large, airy and comfortable rooms. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and a very good selection on offer. Only stayed one night en route but so wish we could have stayed much longer. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Brandelhow while we were cycling the C2C. We were met with a warm welcome and a much needed pot of tea. Our room had everything we needed and more. The bed was luxurious and very comfortable and the entire B+B was spotless !!!
Breakfast the next morning was very nice and was just what we needed to start us on our second day of cycling. The owners were very accommodating and were helpful in recommending a nice Italian restaurant. I would recommend this B+B to anyone cycling the C2C, you don't have to veer from the route and it's well worth the money. The only thing I could possibly complain about was the bike storage. I was under the impression the B+B had secure bike storage i.e. a garage or a shed but when we got there we were told to lock the bikes up in the back yard. Other than that, our stay was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

we stayed here on Fri 27 may, it was the first stop on the c2c. and is the best Guest house i have stayed in and most certainly the cleanest it is spotless, we stayed in the oak lodge room the bed was so comfortable and the extras in the room make all the difference. The breakfast was lovely home made bread & preserves with the full English. nothing was to much for Lanie & Mel to make our stay comfortable. I would recommend this guest house to anyone we most certainly will be going back .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanmel, Owner at Brandelhow Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for a lovely review, nice to see that the people who ACTUALLY STAY like it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortun8
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We had booked to stay overnight, however got an email to say booking cancelled. I was advised a refund would be given which it was four days after booking. The Guest house looked ideal and with excellent reports. However the price given by the automated service was incorrect. Mel told me " Have no idea what had happened." however the room was available at double the price. So just be advised the automated service for booking can be uncertain as it was for us.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanmel, Owner at Brandelhow Guest House, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Im sorry the Expedia online booking system failed you so badly, what a shame that you have decided to take it out on us by giving us such a poor review when you have not stayed in our guesthouse? How then can you post a review stating you stayed in April? I also don't recognise the email address you have used because I have sent nothing to the email address stated????

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I recently stayed at Brandelhow with my boyfriend, sister and her fiancé. We were all made to feel very welcome and although had turned up a little later than originally planned were still given an A* welcome. We stayed in 2 of the rooms and they were clean, spacious and nice decorated.

When we arrived we were offered tea and home made cake. As I have an elderly grandmother who lives in Penrith I have stayed in most of te b&bs here and this is such a lovely touch that Bo one else has offered. We were also given the breakfast menu which has more choice than any other b&b and given all the time we needed to chose. Once we had finished (the cakes were lovely) we were shown to our rooms.

The beds were massive and really really comfy. The ensuite And bedroom was clean and fresh.

We went out for dinner in the Evening and got back quite late. As we had ran out of milk I went downstairs and was offered more milk to take upstairs.

I feel that every stop was pulled out to ensure we had a lovely stay and I can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perfectpinkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed two nights in this guesthouse late march. . Very welcoming guesthouse, very clean and delicious breakfast.

Would definitly stay here again if visting the lake district and will be recommending to all my friends and family.

Thanks to Lanie and Mel for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacfitz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.0 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#11 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#9 of 61 in Penrith
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
2.8 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#45 of 61 in Penrith
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 61 in Penrith
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandelhow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandelhow Guest House

Property: Brandelhow Guest House
Address: 1 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandelhow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its beautiful elegance, comfort and excellent food, we invite you to come and stay in our award winning traditional Victorian Townhouse, which has been completely refurbished and now offers 5 luxury rooms. Our breakfast, Cream Tea, High Tea and packed lunch menus have been designed and developed using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brandelhow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandelhow Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing