We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money with friendly hosts in a delightful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
1 review
“Excellent value for money with friendly hosts in a delightful setting.”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

A very warm welcome awaits you at Bank House B & B in Penrith. Sarah made me very welcome during my stop over en route to Scotland. This delightful B & B is well situated just of the Motorway at Penrith. Directions to the place from the web site were easy to follow and I found the B&B within 5 mins. My room was excellent, very comfortable and deligtfully furnished. Breakfast was amazing,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
124
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I just loved Bank House. There was a really friendly atmosphere and a willingness to help which I haven't encountered in many places. The location was perfect - leafy and quiet, but easy access to town centre. The whole house was really interesting and the breakfasts were the best ever. I don't think I've ever had such a lovely breakfast in a B&B. The room was very pretty and comfortable. I particularly liked the toiletries which I thought were a really nice touch, so much so that I bought some when I left. We'd come back any time and certainly hope to do so. I'd definitely recommend a stay here. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Delightful, friendly and considerate hosts.
Use excellent, locally produced, organic food for delicious breakfasts.
Very clean and comfortable bedrooms / en suite shower rooms.
Lots of helpful information available.
Small guest house / welcoming family feel to the property.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The breakfasts are wholesome and filling. Deano has no concept of medium portions.There is a choice for everyone - as a non-vegetarian I thoroughly enjoyed the halloumi, mushrooms and tomatoes on the vine. The breakfast literally keeps you going all day and even then I had difficulty in doing justice to my evening meal when dinng out.

We are already looking forward to another stay and are looking for the slightest excuse to have another break in the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laketripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Very traditional, family-run. Nice touches e.g complimentary locally-sourced toiletries, fresh milk in rooms rather than those dreadful UHT things.
Breakfast has a superb selection - all the museli, fruit salad and slice-your-own bread you could wish for! Followed by a hot, cooked breakfast of your choice. REAL tea in the teapot!
I imagine it's not the warmest B+B during really cold weather (windows need to keep in with the conservation status) but, having said that, there are extra heaters available. The beds were very cosy though!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Cumbria was cold (so what - it's beautiful whatever the weather!) but we received a very warm reception from the owners of Bank House who ensured that our splendid room was just as warm as their welcome . In addition, they strike a good balance between being friendly but not obtrusive. We would unhesitatingly recommend Bank House to families and couples of all ages.

  • Liked — Friendly service and wonderful breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarregAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

we arrived quite late but the booking in time is 4pm anyway.
when we arrived the owners were friendly and helpful.
it is a lovely large old house but is situated at the top of a steep hill just about a ten minute walk from the centre of Penrith.
There was ample parking on the street outside.
our room was moderate size but cold even though the heating was on, there was an extra electric heater in the room but it was exceptionally cold outside (someone said minus 8!!)
the bathroom was clean and modern with a large shower.
the owners seemed to be enviromentally conscious,this was evident with the products in the room.
there was an extensive breakfast menu with homemade bread and local produce.
this bed and breakfast is without doubt recomended to travellers,you certainly need the weather to be warmer than minus 8 when visiting cumbria at new year.

  • Liked — shower and breakfast
  • Disliked — no view
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlybird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#36 of 61 in Penrith
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#14 of 61 in Penrith
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#10 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bank House Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing