We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A return visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Another two night stay. Just as good as last year. A brisk walk into town set us up for a good meal at the Agricultural Hotel on Friday and the Bangkok Café on Saturday.
A comfortable room, and bed, gave me the best nights sleep I have had in a long while. I had forgotten how dark it is away from city lighting and the lack of passing traffic - bliss.
Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justpassingthrough33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
122
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was a dark and stormy night......
arriving at this warm and welcoming bed and breakfast after a long drive from London was marvellous.
relaxing, comfortable with everything provided.
highlights for me were the magnificent breakfast- home made bread, locally sourced food and great views from the breakfast room. It was very hard to leave and continue my trip.
On a technical side the Wifi worked perfectly and was helpful to be able to check in with family and friends that my trip was going well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I needed overnight accommodation prior to a business meeting in Penrith and was recommended Bank House. I was extremely satisfied. I was given a warm welcome, despite being the only guest, and the room I was given was very well appointed and comfortable. The en-suite facilities were excellent - with a sensibly sized large shower! Breakfast the next morning was absolutely everything I was led to expect; an extraordinarily high standard in terms of quality of food, selection and presentation. This is not a budget overnight stay, but very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Bank House is a traditional property with fine views comfortable beds, quality soft furnishings and nice cosmetics.

The owners know the area well and were really helpful recommending places to eat in the evening. The town centre is only a 10 min walk away but the property is on a hill so may not suit people with mobility issues. Parking is on street but is unrestricted and there is plenty available.

The breakfast was excellent with emphasis on organic locally sourced food and the home baked bread was particularly morish - thanks Sarah for forwarding the recipe !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandLPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed the one night but it was lovely the owners are lovely and friendly, we had the twin room as all double rooms full but we didnt mind as it was really a lovely room beds are really comfy it was hard for me to get out of it . Breakfast was gorgeous everything you could possibly want my husband and I had full English all there products are local. Tea and coffee when you want it and she makes a lemon cake which is to die for . The toiletries are a nice little touch very nice. We went to the George hotel in the high street for our tea we went into the restaurant and if your not staying at that hotel theres only certain choices of meals and are more expensive but still worth a visit food is good. Really looking forward to revisiting bank house .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

At Bank House we enjoyed 3 nights of friendly, unstuffy and totally relaxed hospitality at its best in accommodation of the highest order. The large room and en-suite, double size shower, luxury towels and super comfortable bed and the super array of fresh locally sourced and predominantly Fairtrade produce and super home made bread and cakes on the table made this a memorable stay. Best porridge ever. No hesitation in recommending Bank House.
Read less

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeikeboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Would definitely recommend Bank House. The views were stunning especially in snow; decor and comfort of bedroom wonderful and tasteful. Obviously a much treasured family home too, having been in the family for generations. Delicious breakfast consisting of home-made bread and porridge both made from organic oats/flour sourced from local mill. Proprietors very friendly giving time for conversation and information.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
1.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
16.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bank House Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing