We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprepossessing exterior, wonderful interior!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 66 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would heartily recommend Bank House to anyone. The lovely friendly welcome and the service were second to none. The attention to detail was perfect. My room and en suite were spacious and airy. The breakfast was truly amazing! I congratulate the owners and will definitely be back when next in the area.

Room Tip: Do just check shower water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Absolutely loved it here, they made me feel very welcome. The room was spotlessly clean with a lovely en-suite and very tastefully decorated. Bed was very comfortable and warm. The view from the room overlooking the garden was spectacular, even though it was a misty morning. Breakfast was outstanding with all ingredients locally sourced.

A few minutes walk from Penrith town centre, I will definitely be returning again soon!

Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelinaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Loved this place, room was cosy and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with homemade bread!! Yummy.

The owner even gave me a lift to the school i was visiting in the morning. Very kind, friendly and helpful.

Charlotte

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in July for our son's graduation in Carlisle. Bank House is very convenient for the centre of Penrith but in a lovely quiet residential area. The room and bathroom especially, were of an excellent standard. As everyone else comments on the breakfast, I must advise you to allow lots of time to leisurely enjoy this very special treat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishguardGardenCentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent room - one of the best breakfasts ever. Highly recommended.Room tastefully decorated.
All ingredients locally sourced. Home made bread made from flour from a local mill.The view from the dining room is beautiful. I look forward to revisiting Bank house again. Only a few minutes from Lake Ullswater.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Possibly the best beakfast ever. Good quality fabrics, lovely touches. Friendly and helpful. Even has great views. A star amongst B&Bs. My wife came with me on this trip (most unusual) and absolutely loved this stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good place to stop, nice rooms and a fantastic breakfast, almost worth starving yourself the previous evening! Get the table near the windows for a good view over Penrith; the gardens provide a nice amble too, friendly owners, well reccomended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
924 reviews
4.8 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Brooklands Guest House
Brooklands Guest House
#1 of 66 in Penrith
455 reviews
6 mi away
Laurel House
Laurel House
#1 of 2 in Culgaith
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bank House Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: $107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing