We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb breakfast +++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 67 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb breakfast +++”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent room - one of the best breakfasts ever. Highly recommended.Room tastefully decorated.
All ingredients locally sourced. Home made bread made from flour from a local mill.The view from the dining room is beautiful. I look forward to revisiting Bank house again. Only a few minutes from Lake Ullswater.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
124
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Possibly the best beakfast ever. Good quality fabrics, lovely touches. Friendly and helpful. Even has great views. A star amongst B&Bs. My wife came with me on this trip (most unusual) and absolutely loved this stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good place to stop, nice rooms and a fantastic breakfast, almost worth starving yourself the previous evening! Get the table near the windows for a good view over Penrith; the gardens provide a nice amble too, friendly owners, well reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here on the next to last night of our holiday. It was somewhat difficult to find without a house number and the barely visible sign but once in we were immediately impressed by the spaciousness of our room, its cleanliness and comfortable features. Town was an easy walk down the hill. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was marvellous. We would definitely recommend Bank House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights during May Day week-end and could not have wished for a better stay. The breakfasts were out of this world, the tourist guidance from our host Sarah second to none. (You can borrow OS maps for the day).
A very friendly stay, much enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed twice at Bank House as a stop over to and from Scotland. The B & B is towards the edge of the town, up a fairly steep hill, which gives it a great outlook from the breakfast room. Very pleasant hosts, everything spotlessly clear and comfortable, with quality eco-friendly toiletries etc. Tea, coffee, fresh milk and biscuits in the room, plus a large bottle of filtered water.
The breakfast was outstanding, with a good choice of food from quality local suppliers and excellent home-made organic bread.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night. On arrival, Sarah, the host, was very friendly and took us straight up to our room. I did feel the entrance hall was a little untidy and a hoover was left on the stairs- we did feel we were just staying in someone's house, but I guess that is what a true B&B is like! Despite the dead spider and fly on the carpet in the room, the bathroom was spotless and the room had a lovely ambience to it. Unfortunately we did feel that the garden view from our room needed a little tidy- the garden itself was beautiful but things like the old disposable BBQ on the table underneath the window we felt should have been discarded. The bed was very cosy, except we were woken in the middle of the night by loud music which sounded like it was coming from the room above. Luckily we fell back asleep within the hour. The breakfast was delicious. The fresh fruit salad was a lovely touch, and the homemade bread and real tea-leaf tea were beautiful and the full English cooked breakfasts were lovely. Overall we liked the B&B but would probably try somewhere different if we were to travel through Penrith again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
880 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#39 of 67 in Penrith
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#15 of 67 in Penrith
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bank House Graham Street, Penrith CA11 9LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bank House is a beautiful period house with Victorian terraced gardens situated on a quiet street in the lovely town of Penrith. All our rooms are elegantly decorated with double sized showers in our wood paneled en-suites. Our breakfast uses fresh local and fair trade produce and try to cater for. We have Freeview TV in all rooms and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing