We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way back from a wedding in Scotland. We have stayed in Penrith itself before and enjoyed it but wanted to try a different hotel and I'm so glad we did!
Set in beautiful countryside Edenhall is a great find. The rooms (there were two couples) were both warm and clean with lovely ensuites. They were well equipped with wardrobes and drawers so it would be easy to stay here for a week comfortably.
The breakfast was served hot and there was plenty of it! We all thoroughly enjoyed it and left the table well fed.
We tried a sandwich in our room as I wasn't very well and it was delicious. My daughter and her partner ate downstairs and said the quality of the food was superb and both of them want to return again for a longer break.
A real treasure in a beautiful area, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from our 5th stay at Edenhall Hotel. Great as always, Paula & Wayne great hosts and food lovely. Each time we go you can see another update and refurb has taken place. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Compton18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just got back from a lovely stay at edenhall country hotel, and we could not write and say how lovely everyone at the hotel was, the staff were warm and welcoming as soon as we got there, room was everything we would have expected, and the breakfast was soooooo good, the people here could not have been nicer nor more welcoming. but next time can we have room 4? for those of you not knowing, read up on the hotel before hand.

Once again many many thanks for a lovely stay

Ms J Costello Mr R Hall

Room Tip: as mentioned read up on hotel, you'll get our drift, but room 4 may or may not be for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james12329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The welcome was lovely. The hotel isn't a slick swish chain hotel, it is individual and in the process of being upgraded. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was fine a large shower with good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
We ate in the hotel the food was plentiful and pleasant.

Will I go again?-yes

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireSusi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Extremely helpful friendly staff, good value for money, comfortable, clean room, good breakfast, good parking, pleasant country hotel in a good location,with nice views of the countryside, generous portions of good traditional food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There were four of us in our party so we decided to book the apartment and were very pleasantly surprised with it. Lovely big lounge with patio doors out on to your own private garden, patio furniture on order, so next year it will be great in the summer (if we have one) to be able to sit outside in the evening. Bedrooms are very pleasant although there are still a few small things to be added to make the upgrade complete, but i was assured they are all on order. We ate in the bar one evening and the meal was delicious, also had cooked breakfast in the restaurant one morning, plenty of everything. The only little niggle I have is the entrance to rooms 20-27 and the apartment are not accessible from the main hotel bar and restaurant, so if weather very bad you have to go outside to get to the main body of the hotel. Also the chicken feed is placed in the porch way to the the rooms and apartment, so if you have a bird / feather phobia beware !!.Also check your shoes before you get in to your car, we managed to get chicken poo on the car mat, which was not very pleasant with the heating on !. All in all a very enjoyable place to stay, would recommend the apartment for families or groups of friends, it has very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just back from a wonderful couple of nights at the Edenhall Country Hotel.It is located in a beautiful quiet location 4 miles from Penrith.From the moment we arrived the owners and staff were so friendly and very accommodating to every request.The food and service was of a high standard and we had a great time in the bar with the locals.The owners have worked so hard over the last 4 years to upgrade every area of the hotel and are continuing to do so,they deserve every success for the future.Many thanks and we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telsa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
5.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenhall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhall Country House Hotel

Address: Edenhall, Penrith CA11 8SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $106 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenhall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Edenhall Country House and Restaurant. Our independently run hotel dates back to the mid 17th century, and offers excellent accommodation just 5 minutes from Penrith and the M6 (J40). The village of Edenhall is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and situated in the beautiful Eden Valley, nestling between the rugged Pennine hills and the spectacular Lakeland fells. With 20 en-suite rooms, some of which are pet friendly, we are larger than most B&Bs, but smaller and more intimate than many other Cumbrian hotels, making Edenhall Country House the ideal place for a short bed and breakfast break or a longer holiday. Set in over an acre of beautifully maintained gardens, Edenhall Country House is one of a number of Cumbrian hotels that makes a fabulous setting for civil weddings and wedding celebrations. The hotel is also available for functions including family parties and gatherings as well as conferences during the week. Our restaurant serves home cooked food using the best local produce. For more casual dining, bar meals are available along with a menu of light snacks throughout the day. The large open fire becomes a focal point on cooler evenings, whereas in warmer weather, you are free to enjoy the beer garden or relax in our large conservatory. Free internet access via wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Edenhall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenhall Country
Edenhall Country House Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing