We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Four and Twenty

Four and Twenty
Reserve with OpenTable
Four and Twenty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Fine dining at very reasonable prices. My wife and I had a three course lunch for £18.00 each. Quality & taste are superb! A real gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank ehudphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    56
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been a few times now and the food is always delicious both at lunch and dinner time. George offers attentive and charming service and had the whole team running like clockwork. The best place to eat in Penrith.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beabopshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Deserves its reputation”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Excellent food and charmingly friendly service. Book well in advance though - it gets full, especially on Fridays and Saturdays. (They're closed Sunday and Monday.) And yes, the acoustics are on the loud side and they need to fit an automatic closing device on the front door, since even on a cold evening too many people blithely depart leaving it wide open. But despite all that, well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“To noisy the siberian wind cuts you in two”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The food is wonderful but for the money I don't want to hear what the man three tables away is investing his millions in. the noise just echoes around the room. Every time the front door is open the cold wind invades the room and makes it most unpleasant. for the money I am looking for more than good food. The table services is ok but can be slow they where quick enough to get our money but too slow to get our coats maybe the tip was not enough. to be number one and stay number one they will have to make some improvements or like so many other resterants in the town they will dissappear without a trace

Helpful?
8 Thank 500merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow - Just wow...”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were in Penrith with no where to go...next we see the sign "Four Twenty"...we enter, greeted by lovely friendly staff who were always happy to help. We've sat down for a minute then, complimentary olives! Next complimentary warm bread...you know the kind. Where the butter melts as it
Hits the bread yummy. Next the main. Braised beef. As the Germans say, "fantastich!" Wow what a main. Could it get any better? I can't believe it can...oh wait here come sticky toffee pudding! Piping hot with a cold ice cream compliment. Wow this is amazing! What a journey what an adventure. We live in manchester but we would happily travel to penrith to go to forty twenty for their fantastic food and service!

I think the food is slightly overpriced though and would like this to be looked at in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StanleyGreen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four and Twenty also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to Four and Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing