We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B + B, fantastic stay”
Review of Mellfell Cottages

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mellfell Cottages
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Amersham, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful B + B, fantastic stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Mellfell House Farm, it was perfect! Diane and Ben made us feel so welcome, and were so helpful. In particular Diane was brilliant at taylor making two days of activities to suit our interest and level of fitness! The bed and breakfast is delightful, with a lot of character - Diane and Ben seem to have thought of everything! We loved the big breakfast, and all the cats! Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent a week 21/06/14 to 28/06/14 at No 3 Mellfell cottage and was more than happy with accommodation. On arrival we were greeted by Dianne, Ben was out working somewhere. We were shown the cottage which is very very clean and there are so many little touches that Dianne makes to ensure you enjoy your stay at the cottage, from a vase of roses on the table to curls of butter in the fridge ready for the crumpets that Dianne provides, hoping that you will be able to toast them by an open fire. It was too hot for a fire for us. There is also sachets of coffee and sugar as well as teabags and even a bottle of milk in the fridge waiting. Nothing is too much trouble for Ben either who, when interrupted from cooking their dinner, dropped everything just to sort out the WIFI for us. Unfortunately we had to leave early due to my health, but even then Dianne offered to drive me to Minor Injuries in the hope that I would have been able to continue my holiday.Both Dianne and Ben are very lovely people and their cottages and grounds are well kept. Even the horses, sheep, cats and Bluey the cow are friendly, of course not forgetting Mr, Mrs and Miss Tattybogle the scarecrows. I would recommend to anyone beautiful accommodation, wonderful hosts/owners and all for a very reasonable price.Definitely more than 5 star accomodation. Well done Dianne and Ben, hope you see you again one day. Dawn and Sarah

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanadawn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Spent another relaxing week at Mellfell cottages. The accomodation is great, very relaxing, you do as much or as little as you want. Liovely relaxing in the evening with an open fire. Ben & Diane are very welcoming and always on hand if you need any help. This was our 14th stay at the cottages and we'll be there again next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
0.0 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#53 of 61 in Penrith
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellfell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellfell Cottages

Property: Mellfell Cottages
Address: Watermillock, Penrith CA11 0LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Penrith
Also Known As:
Mellfell Cottages Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing