We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
90stuartw
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very relaxing ”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a great place to stay. You can reach Penrith, Keswick and Ullswater very easily. We found this cottage as a great base to see the Lake District.

Whether you want want to be out and about or stay in and relax this is a good choice.

The inside in very nice and very clean the shower is lovely and is as hot as you like also has a good size bath.

We stayed here as part of our 10th anniversary. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
Lovely to hear that you chose to spend your 10th wedding anniversary at Coach house Cottage, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvheaven
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful - a great base in the lakes”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked this cottage as a surprise birthday trip for my boyfriend and it fit the bill perfectly. The interior is immaculate, and well kitted out for self-catering. The open plan living area is gorgeous with exposed brickwork and wooden beams - the perfect place to retreat to after a long walk in the lakes! The bathroom is lovely too, and the shower is a great size, piping hot and powerful. It's about 20 minutes away from Penrith and half an hour away from Lake Ullswater so a great base for exploring the area.

Nicky came out of her way to greet us, finding us outside the local pub which is literally around the corner from the property (perk!). She was very friendly, offering advice for our trip and even offering to drop us off at our car on the Sunday morning if we decided to get a taxi back to the cottage - she really went above and beyond! I'd definitely recommend a stay here.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2015
Hello, many thanks for taking time to post a review. Your comments are much appreciated. Best wishes Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H
1 review
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for four nights visiting the Lake District, and loved every minute spent in the cottage. Being outside the Lake District national park there's a bit of a drive to get anywhere else, but as the surrounding countryside is so pretty, that's not a bad thing.

We were lucky with the weather, but had it been a bit rainier, it would never have been a disappointment to have to stay spend a bit more time in the cottage. It is very cosy and beautifully fitted out, and although the surrounding countryside is not as spectacular as the Lake District, it is very quiet and perfect for pleasant walks in its own right. On our early evening arrival, we were made to feel very welcome by Nicky, and the walk she suggested to us was a lovely way to start the holiday after a long drive up from London.

After long days spent walking or driving around the Lakes, it was always lovely to come back to the cottage and relax with a bottle of wine. Would definitely like to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Many thanks for your review. We also feel that Skelton is in glorious countryside, an ideal location to relax and unwind but close enough to the 'must see' Lake District attractions.
Best wishes Nicky Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coach House Cottage. Many thanks for your time taken to review. Best wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthonybe...
1 review
“Over priced for area in the middle of no where no nice walks to go on into the mountains.”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

All in all the cottage was lovely but location and price was wrong for me if you want to go somewhere without any shops near by or no mountains or river to walk by its the place to go but very pricey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with the cottage. It seems the rural village location was not as you expected, which is a shame. Many people enjoy the local countryside walks, whilst having the busy Lake District attractions within easy access.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGF263
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful few days staying in this superb cottage. The property was immaculate, clean, superbly fitted out and just the place for a relaxing break in the countryside.
Nicky the owner, was most helpful when we checked in, and gave us good advice on where to visit and eat out.The local area is very picturesque and there are numerous walks and visitor attractions within easy distance.
We had a fantastic time and are so pleased to have discovered such a cosy, welcoming place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accomodation and quiet location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a lovely review, very much appreciated. Best wishes Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage close to everything!”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are a couple that spent 3 nights on Coach House Cottage. What a break! The cottage is amazing, very clean and cozy. It's a lovely place, close to wonderful places such as Keswick or Ullswater. When we arrived, Nikki was there willing to give us all the information we needed about what to visit around the area.

It has been an amazing experience, we highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore the lovely North Lakes area.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing