We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Country Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RossM772
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Country Cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Nicky met us at the Cottage. As soon as we walked in you could tell that this was a 5 star cottage. Nicky was very passionate about her cottage and provided useful information about the Cottage and the area. She also provided a welcome pack of biscuits, milk, tea and coffee, which was really appreciated. This was one of the best beds we have had in 5 weeks of travelling, and the cleanliness and presentation was outstanding. It was also a great place to visit the lake District and be able to come back to a warm, quiet Cottage after a long day. We enjoyed visiting the pub next door for a meal and drinks. It has a wonderful friendly atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage was comfortable, quiet and clean.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read it, many thanks.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxgp
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a perfect stay.”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Nicky Cottage was perfect for Penny and I. Good location,great layout and exactly what we wanted during our adventure in UK.A place to chill out and relax.Thankyou.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to relax and spread out unlike a single room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2014
You are very welcome, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Best Wishes
Nicky,
on behalf of Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville W
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very comfortable and spotlessly clean cottage in a quiet village location, but close to Lake District and many other attractions. Hosts were friendly and very helpful. Would thoroughly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and well equipped.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to review our cottage, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay
best wishes
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
We thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and especially as you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to have you back to stay.
kind regards
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Km4128
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay! Wonderfully cute and cosey cottage”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here Easter weekend and had a fantastic stay. The cottage is lovely - very homely. We came to do walking in the lakes but i could have easily curled up in the sofa and stayed in this beautiful cottage all weekend. Nicky and tony were fantastic and made sure we were settled in and had a great stay. We would love to come back! Thanks nicky and tony!

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review. If you do decide to visit the Lakes again we would be delighted to see you again.
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2014
I am very gratefull that you took the time to review my cottage and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is full of character
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2014
Very many thanks for taking the time to review my cottage. Kind regards Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing