We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of The Bridge

The Bridge
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Denby Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

What can I say, we were dressed like scruffy ramblers and treated like royalty, nothing was to much trouble. The food was excellent really excellent but the service was stand out, fantastic.

Im no planning this place into all my trips to the lakes can't way to go back.

Thanks for a fab experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    86
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We popped in for coffee and cake on the way home from our holiday in Scotland - what a lovely welcome we experienced.
First class service by happy, friendly staff in a relaxing atmosphere.
All areas exceptionally clean and fresh.
Far outweighs using the motorway services!
A must visit if in the area - we hope to visit for a meal when next nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floppydog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stopped off at the Bridge on our way back from a funeral as we didn't want to cook when we arrived home. What a find. The food and service were second to none. We had soup and sandwich all home made , then a wonderful dessert. The coffees and tea piping hot.
The toilets are clean well stocked even contain hand cream. This is a great place to brake your journey on the A66. The menu has a very wide range from fresh made scones and cakes to a full Restaurant meal. The bar stocks a wide selection of good wine and local beers.
We will be returning .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Friday family lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Myself, husband and three young children enjoyed a wonderful relaxed meal at The Bridge. We wanted to drop the car off at our guest house so popped in to book a table when we returned it was all set ready for us including a highchair for our baby. It was quite at first - it was early but soon become busy with a good buzz! The children's menu was very great not just the usual chips with everything. I ordered the lamb my husband the steak, both meals were delicious and presented nicely. The service was swift and staff were very attentive the manager was chatty and great with the children! We had a lovely meal in a great environment would visit again when in the area and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fantastic home made food......in beautiful surroundings ...not much more to say other than we will be back! Our son is a wheelchair user and the access is great and the welcome genuine and unobtrusive.......thank you very much....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank banerigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing