We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Penrith” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Bistro

Bangkok Bistro
Ranked #36 of 158 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A small, friendly family run authentic Thai restaurant. With over twenty years experience in Thai cuisine. Everything is prepared on the premises and our menu includes a wide range of vegetarian and gluten free items. Fully licensed with 50 covers. Parties catered for with buffet or al la carte. Takeaway service also available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good choice in Penrith”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

In Penrith for weekend. Spent almost an hour trying to find somewhere decent to eat on a Saturday night. Stumbled upon Bankok Bistro by chance. It was almost fully occupied by one big party! Nevertheless, they found us a relatively quiet corner. Food was tasty. House wine decent and staff welcoming. Seemed to be one of the better options in Penrith. Recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    26
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Me and my friend went here for the first time the other night, and must say the food was lovely, I had chicken on toast for starters which came with a lovely sweet chilli dip and for my main I had a yellow chicken cuury with pad mee which was delicious, the portion sizes and prices were great value, highly recommend, shame its hidden away as visitors may miss out!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had dinner last week at the Bangkok Bistro whilst on a lakes break and staying in Penrith. As soon as we arrived the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent, I had the curry (very spicy) and my wife the prawns all cooked fresh. It was all good value and we would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A tasty find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was staying in Penrith for a wedding and the guest house provided an array of menus for local bars and restaurants, thought we'd give this place a try and so pleased we did, the service was good and food delicious, we had the chicken platter to share which was gorgeous, never had chicken sesame toast before, its a must! Hubby had duck in chili which was rather spicy but just right for his palette, I had sweet & sour chicken with rice, it was lovely. The Bistro is not on the main thoroughfare so you have to look for it, but its worth finding!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Friendly and good looking staff, food very nice and testy, would recommend to all my friends and family to visit their restaurant, if you visit Penrith you must stop by this restaurant and try out their food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M4ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Bangkok Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing