We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience”
Review of Alhambra Cinema

Alhambra Cinema
Ranked #3 of 8 Fun & Games in Penrith
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Penrith, the Alhambra Cinemas provide a first-class cinema experience, screening all the latest cinema releases as well as independent and foreign-language films in comfortable and relaxing surroundings.Now with Dolby Digital projection and Dolby Digital sound.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This small cinema was like going back in time. Luckily we had prebooked our tickets to see Les Miserables and we were not disappointed. The were staff pleasant and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank denise032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Sky fall”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to the Alhambra cinema in November to see the new bond film. Although the cinema is quite dated the staff were lovely very helpful and chatty which you sometimes don't get at a larger chain of cinema. Would definitely go again next time I am in the lakes

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fantastic small cinema”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely small cinema, with 2 screens, comfy seats, fantastic sound system, friendly staff. Good range of goodies to buy, often have sunday alternative films offering a change to the usual popular blockbusters.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Facing closure last year this small cinema has rallied round with the backing of local people and is hopeffthrully thriving, We no longer have to wait weeks for the latest block buster.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank joyce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alhambra Cinema also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Alhambra Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing