We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not the same”

Greystone House Cafe
Ranked #66 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Just not the same”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here for lunch everytime we were in that neck of the woods & it was always worth a bit of a drive to go there, not been for a few years & were really looking forward to lunch on our way back to Scotland from Manchester airport, it used to be called the Loft House & the first thing that struck us was how quiet it was, every other time we have been we have been lucky to get a seat, only one soup now instead if a choice, we both had sandwiches & a small soup, the sandwiches were not nearly as nice as before & the soup although piping hot had absolutely no taste, such a shame but won't visit again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A complete treasure”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Paul and Henry are two of the most charming guys you could wish to meet and I wish them every success in their new venture. I stopped off recently for some lunch, and was delighted by the welcome and the quality of the food. It so refreshing to find a little treasure like this far better than the cardboard sandwiches and pre cooked delights that the motorway service stations seem to offer these days.
Keep up the good work and I wish you well for the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annprice682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“....wow what a delightful alternative to motorway service station food!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

off the A66 on the way into Penrith is a delightful place to stop on your journey. Modern farm shop attached to the farm with a super tea shop serving delicious home cooking expertly cooked at sensible prices. Enthusiastic smiling staff make your stop complete.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Farm shop and cafe”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good value, local produce in the farm shop and cafe. Well placed for visiting Penrith and Ullswater. Friendly service. All day farmhouse breakfast is great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and delicious food.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We regularly eat here and were amazed to see no reviews yet! We love the homemade style. The soups and scones are gorgeous. There is real cumberland sausage on the menu - made on the premises I believe. Our little ones love the homemade cakes and they are made to feel welcome, which is great. On our last visit we were so impressed that we have also ordered our Christmas turkey and sausages from there - there is a quality butchers downstairs - we have already taken home lamb and it was divine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greystone House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greystone House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing