We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“xmas night out”

Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro
Ranked #17 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $36
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family Run Wine Bar Bistro, Serving High Quality Fresh Food, Chef/Proprietor. Outstanding Reputation.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“xmas night out”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

lovely food lovely place lovely lady that owned restaurant . would defo go back had the xmas menu. went at 7 had 4 courses with coffee we werent rushed and left abut 11.00 .reasonably priced for a xmas meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerietaborsmith, Owner at Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank You so much for your very nice review, we are very pleased
that you all enjoyed your evening with us, hope to see you again.
Allison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meal Supreme”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited Grants again on Friday last with wife & son. Treat ourselves to the Christmas special menu.
The meal was wonderful from start to finish & we were looked after superbly by Alison & Olivia.
Don't know of anywhere that we could partake of a meal with the same quality of food and service at such a reasonable price.
We only live 20 miles away so can be there in half a hour. We're thinking about applying for season tickets

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you Laurence D for such a lovely review - delighted you enjoyed it so much,
we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Having being imprisoned in Centre Parc Whinfell for a few days we needed proper food that hadn't been prepared in a chain so we ventured out. Quick search on Trip Advisor suggested this place as it's only 10 minutes from Centre Parcs. Cannot recommend it highly enough - lovely welcome, great cocktails, excellent food and service.

The meal on a Thursday night was £21 for 3 courses which represented absolutely excellent value. I had pheasant breast on slices of haggis for starter, then lamb on mash for main and then a lovely cheese cake for dessert.

All the food was freshly prepared and tasted great.

Whole bill came to £90 including drinks for 3 "adults" (one is a teenager) and 1 9 year old child. This included 2 cocktails, glass of wine and a few soft drinks.

The only downside was that the place was quiet so lacked a little atmosphere but other than that it deserves the 5 stars I gave it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipstream69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank You skipstream 69 family for your lovely review, delighted you all enjoyed your evening
with us, hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a lovely evening in Grant's on Friday night... From telephone booking through to the end of the evening, the staff were friendly and attentive and did not rush to have us out of the restaurant. The food was delicious and offered a good selection of local produce. Had been warned that it was "pricey" but found the bill to be more than reasonable considering the quality of food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tomstevensmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Food& Service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Worth wait for food while enjoying wine the meals came freshly cooked with some original tastes. Best meal in this part of Cumbria for four years

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank smogy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsons681, Owner at Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments we do appreciate this, we hope to see you again on your next trip to Cumbria.
Allison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Grants of CastleGate, Cafe Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing