We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”
Review of Thai Food Cafe

Thai Food Cafe
Ranked #20 of 163 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Freshly daily selected ingredients, prepared and cooked on site, with Menu catering for vegetarian and vegan options Gluten free on request. The food we prepare and serve is Nourishing, Aromatic, very tasty, succulent, uncsious and contains all the five flavours for a well balanced diet for the most decerning Palate. Including Sweet, Sour, Astringent,Pungent,And Salty, in perfectly measured proportions. Altogether probably the best Thai food experience in the UK.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our family visited this absolutely lovely restaurant in early December 2012. Three of us are not big fans of Thai food but thoroughly enjoyed the meal we had here. We sampled all of the starters which were beautifully presented and delicious. A selection of mains were fantastic too. Seating is in booths with maximum of 4 and the place is very clean with simple but very tasteful decor. Service was great and prices reasonable. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David-R1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having seen recommendations on Trip Advisor, we decided to pay the Thai Food Cafe a visit. We were given a friendly welcome and on commenting how cold it was outside, we were shown to a warm table with a heater nearby. We had the Spring Rolls to start followed by Thai Curry and Noodles. It was amazing food, fresh and tasty. The service was faultless and we would highly recommend a visit. We will certainly make a beeline for this cafe next time we are in Penrith!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MGR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and the wife went for a meal here on 23/11/2012. I checked on tripadvisor and the reviews were right. The food was served with in a couple of minutes piping hot we had the mixed starter for two. Which was lush especially the prawn toast. For the mains we had a spicy duck and chicken curry with sticky rice and chips and a bottle of bear each all for £35,bargain. I really could not fault the food it was hot and very spicy. The pretty waitress ask us if we wanted it spicy and believe me it was just on my border line just right. The only fault about this place is the actuall place is more of a cafe than a restaurant which is does not claim to be. Do go here you will not be disapointed. Amazing food 5*. And i also recommend the lemon tree cafe for full english breakfast, best i ever had. I will be reviewing this gem very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewcastleFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We fell over this small unpretentious restaurant tucked away as it is at the far end of Devonshire Arcade. The owner and her staff were friendly and genuine. The food was tasty and reasonably priced.

2  Thank Sa5annahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fantastic Thai food and service. Small sit-in dining area, shared with a takeaway - but do not let that put you off. If it is great Thai food you are looking for, this is the place to visit. Open daytime and evenings. Large choice of dishes (not all are hot), something for everyone. Located within the Devonshire Arcade, near the clock in Penrith town centre. Use the back entrance at night, as the arcade is then closed from the main street. Parking is right outside their door. This family run eating house is very new (March 2012) and is my best eating house in Penrith. Found on a recent short break to the Lakes. PLEASE DO GIVE THEM A TRY. Tell them GAVIN sent you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Food Cafe also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Thai Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing