We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and service.”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #30 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Recommended by the staff at Travelodge. Fabulous food at this small country pub/restaurant. Friendly staff, good quality food, very generous helpings & very reasonable prices. Ate there twice and would highly recommend.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food and service.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Kings Arms is a nice village pub. Nice home cooked food at reasonable prices. The staff were a credit to the pub, giving us a nice welcome and quick, efficient friendly service throughout our visit.
My fish and chips were beautifully cooked and my wife's request for a slight alteration to her main course was not only accepted but an alternative suggested that made the dish even more to her taste.
Sweets were lovely, with my own sticky toffee pudding with custard being particularly good.
As we left it had started raining and the bar staff sorted out a taxi for us without any hesitation.
Good service from start to finish. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitty555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome family pub in a beatiful setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wonderful food, great hospitality and all beautiful setting is what makes this family owned pub different to what you normally find in cities chains. Food was very fresh and delicious. All the people around were very friendly. Must visit if you are around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnshulTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner in an English Pub”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our American friends wanted a nice dinner in an English pub. The King's Arms was recommended by our hotel. Excellent meal, plenty of locals (always a good sign). The staff was very welcoming and the food delicious. We all loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice friendly local”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently had a few days in Penrith and called into Stainton a couple of times for a nice quiet drink in a village local.We were not disappointed.Nice looking pub with friendly staff and locals.We didn't eat there but it was very busy serving food on a tuesday night,which is usually a good sign.
If you want a nice relaxing drink that is reasonably priced in a friendly local,this is a place to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telsa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Pub”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Roast Lamb Henry with mash is GREAT!! staff are really friendly, just can be difficult to find. Only short distance from the Limes Guest house and away from the busy center of Penrith.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing