We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hosts of Sockbrdge Mill bed and breakfast were really friendly, welcoming and well informed. The quality of accomodation was outstanding and very cosy, especially the "proper" fire on a cold autumn evening and the delicious food prepared with consideration for my special dietary needs. Breakfast was a real treat. The surrounding area, with walks recommended by our charming hosts, was incredibly beautiful and we had a lovely time. Thank you very much, Debbie and Gary!

Room Tip: .Bring a camera for the fantastic scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sockbridge Mill is a lovely hide away, complete with cosy lounge and log burning fire. The cooked breakfast is delicious and the rooms are cosy and clean. The owners helped us by storing our bikes and were fine about us returning very late in the evening.

All in all a delightful stay and hope to stay again some time soon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sockbridge Mill is a well restored and clean Bed and Breakfast with modern décor. There are a few quirks like having to take your shoes off at the door and not being able to pay with card or cheque which are a bit inconvenient, but it is the attitude of the land lord that means I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who values good customer service.

You see, we were unfortunate enough for a tap handle to snap off in the en suite room. This was acknowledged to not be our fault by the land lady, Debbie, at the time. Both my wife and I had successfully operated taps for a collective 60 years without something like this happening and I am not the incredible hulk. Debbie kindly offered us the use of another bathroom for the night, but this was still quite an inconvenience. We were travelling with our 12 week old baby and the access to running hot and cold water without having to cross the landing many times in a night was one of the reasons we had chosen to stay at this B&B. Being forced to fill a flask of warm water for the many night time changes, washing our hands with baby wipes and bathing our baby by holding her in the shower, made our stay less than enjoyable.

Naturally we thought it would be appropriate that there be some small acknowledgement of this in the price when it came to settle up the next day. The difference in price of an en suite and standard room perhaps, given the en suite was not functional. Unfortunately this was not offered, leaving us to raise it ourselves. At this suggestion the land lord, Gary suggested that I had broken the tap and that I should feel lucky I was not charged for it. Furthermore when we did settle the balance in cash, as requested, he accused us of not paying in full and we had to point out we had already sent them a deposit by paypal.

In short we did not get what we paid for and we were insulted and disrespected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex1980924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby P, Owner at Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
At all times we try our best to ensure that our customers are comfortable and enjoy their stay, but unfortunately sometimes events occur that are beyond our control. In this instance the customers had broken a new tap in the sink in their en suite. It was too late to get a plumber, so we offered them alternative facilities in the form of a large comfortable, adjacent and convenient bathroom for their sole use. We feel we acted reasonably, and in good faith, so we were surprised when these customers requested a reduction to their bill. We were not rude or disrespectful when discussing this matter with them, as has been stated by the customers in their misleading comments. Sadly this incident has marred an otherwise happy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed in so many bed and breakfasts in our time that it sounds like hyperbole to say this is the best ever,but it was a unanimous verdict. My husband and I met up with our oldest friends for a couple of days' break. We found Sockbridge Mill online and were delighted with every aspect of our stay there. The Mill is very secluded, located at the end of a narrow winding country lane. There are two double rooms, one with an ensuite bathroom and the other with exclusive use of a beautiful bathroom. The rooms were very comfortable, and the decor throughout just stunning - exposed beams everywhere with booklined shelves, a piano, hi-fi and TV available in a spacious sitting room, again for the exclusive use of visitors. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners, Debby and Gary, could not have been kinder or more accommodating. They are both artists with studios on site, and examples of their work hang in the house. The Mill has been beautifully and tastefully restored throughout and it was a real pleasure to stay there. We will go back without doubt and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyandcarol3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby P, Owner at Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments! We really appreciate them and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this great B&B. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet, tastefully decorated & furnished. Debbie & Gary are excellent hosts, & will give you any advice that you need to make the most of your break. Bathrooms are very nice & spacious, breakfasts are excellent & make a great start to the day. The mill is close to Penrith, were we had a very nice meal with great service at the George hotel, & would certainly return here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby P, Owner at Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is such a find for anyone wanting to get away from the stresses of city living! Ideally located between the Lakes and the seriously underrated Eden Valley it's 10minutes from Penrith yet totally secluded and peaceful - not a tourist in sight! We spotted Green Woodpeckers, Water Voles and even Red Squirrels who came right up to the bird feeders right outside the living room: a special experience. Rooms were immaculate and very tastefully decorated, with some quirky touches. Our room had an antique Rajasthani mirror, 18th Century Chaise Longue as well as one of the owner's own prints - somehow it just worked! A warm welcome and fantastic breakfast too (loved the local sausages). Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrkp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby P, Owner at Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. You were especially lucky to see the red squirrils!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This B & B is in a lovingly refurbished 17C mill with only a trickling millstream to disturb you in the secluded neighbourhood--yet you are less than a mile from a popular country inn which serves a nice supper). Solid oak complements the mill's structure, and owners Debby and Gary's artistic skills show through in attractive decor, tiling, paintings, etc. They were delightful and exceptionally attentive hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious! With the M6 and Ullswater close in either direction this is a great base for Lake District visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcuin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
5.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Inn
Queen's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Tirril
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Lowthwaite B & B
Lowthwaite B & B
#4 of 61 in Penrith
370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#8 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Sockbridge Mill | Sockbridge, Penrith CA10 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide stylish, contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation in a converted 18th Century watermill surrounded by a large garden. Sockbridge Mill is in an idyllic riverside setting at the end of a bridle path, outside the villages of Sockbridge and Tirril. We are located just outside the Lake District National Park, 3 miles from Lake Ullswater and 4 miles from Penrith and Jct 40 on the M6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sockbridge Mill Bed And Breakfast Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing