We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guest House - love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brooklands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House - love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

We travel up to Cumbria to visit family and always stay at Brooklands and it never disappoints, the guest house is the best we have stayed in on our many travels around the UK. This time we stayed in room 5 (the purple one) and it was pure luxury, the bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room and storage space. We especially liked the biscuits left on our refreshment tray!

I would not stay anywhere else and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twizzleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
184
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed at Brooklands last weekend for 2 nights in the superior suite and what a joy it was. Our host Leon was very pleasant and extremely helpful, even booking a local restaurant for us and making suggestions for local attractions. We were booked for an early morning balloon flight and asked if he could provide us with some sandwiches in lieu of breakfast on the first morning. This he did, even though the flight was cancelled due to weather. Instead of being an alternative breakfast he gave us it as a packed lunch, and then refused any payment for it.
In addition to all this the room was very comfortable with my wife remarking the bed had the most luxurious sheets she had ever slept on. Plus complimentary chilled bottles of water and a large flatscreen TV with freeview and a full-size bath. I could go on but the best way to discover how good this place was is to stay there, you won't be disappointed.

Jim

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Comfortable, cosy B&B with friendly, attentive hosts, very central for pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was a real delight with lots of fresh fruit salad, all the usual Full English and plenty of alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonykerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

Just returned from a one night stay at the Brooklands in Penrith. We can fault nothing on this lovely B & B. The room was lovely (we had the four poster room) and the small touches in the room (chocolates to have with a hot drink and the White Company toiletries in the bathroom along with white bathrobes) made the stay feel more luxurious than we expected from a small family run B & B. Breakfast was great and set us up nicely for the day. Would recommend to anyone and will be returning sometime soon

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peak district
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Had a great two day stop here. Very clean hotel. Stopped in the four poster room which was great. Good bathroom, but the bath was a little small (nit picking!). Excellent service, unfussy. Huge breakfasts! Penrith is a pleasant town as well in a gret location for a quick trip to Ullswater

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bishbosh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

What a fabulous place to stay, we stay here regularly when visiting family, who live locally. Our most recent trip in December must have been our fourth or fifth vist. We're always treated warmly -the owners are in the perfect jobs! Nothing is too much trouble! The quality of the accommodation is very, very good-its clean and comfortable with extra touches like chocolate and biscuits in the room as well as a fridge and bottle opener! Breakfasts are lovely with more unusual options-the fishcakes are great as well as the usal range of options! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in this homely and beautifully furnished b&b. The room was impeccably clean with luxurious bedlinen and toiletries. Cookies, chocolates and a selection of tea were provided in the room.

Leon and Debbie were also so generous in their breakfast offerings - fresh fruits, varieties of cereals, jams and hot food cooked to order. Yummy!!!

  • Liked — Tastefully furnished and clean room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buzibody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#8 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Property: Brooklands Guest House
Address: 2 Portland Place | Cumbria, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brooklands Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and elegant, Brooklands Guest House is situated in the heart of historic Penrith. Recently refurbished, our beautifully furnished rooms have fans, alarm clock with iPhone dock, bottled water and hospitality tray with chocolates and biscuits, a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. All our bathrooms come complete with dressing gowns, fluffy white towels and luxury toiletries from the white company for all our needs. Our aim is to provide the very best in comfort and service to our guests.CLICK HOTEL WEBSITE AT TOP OF PAGE TO BOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrith Guest Houses
Brooklands Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing