We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brooklands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
1 review
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first time at The Brooklands; we had two rooms for two nights and were very impressed with the overall stay. The rooms were immaculate and quite spacious, each very well fitted out with all the little touches in place. Beds were very comfortable and a good size (I'm 6ft4). Bathrooms were kept in tip top condition and were spotlessly clean.
A variety of breakfast fayre was available from cereals, continental to the "Full English", which we both can highly recommend.
The owner was most helpful with the local parking, which in Penrith can sometimes be problematic - a council problem not the owner!
A very warm welcome, great rooms, good food. Pretty much an unbeatable combination.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, condition, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_MH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
184
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been visitors for around 12 years and it is equally amazing every time .... Superbly ran by Leon and Debbie, this is no ordinary guesthouse... Decor is beautiful, breakie is fresh local food and always cooked to perfection! Back again in 2 weeks.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnster34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

spent two nights here while doing the coast to coast cycle ride, the place is a 5 star rated guest house, more like 10 stars !! the room excellent clean and tidy tea and coffee topped up daily. The breakfast selection was amazing. The place itself is out of this world. The owners could not do enough for you, I can not recommend this place high enough well worth staying at.

Room Tip: would try and book en suite if your a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vale147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well, I have been lucky enough to rest a while here twice now and have found the location and quality up to the standards portrayed by all previous reviewers,
Assistance from Leon and knowledge of local attractions helped make the weekend
wanted to stop longer.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiedecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The most comfortable b&b bed I have ever stayed in. It was so comfortable I had to be dragged out of it to go to evening dinner in the town. Incredible range of fruit at breakfast. They even have Marmite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here on C2C ride and totally knocked out by the standard of service. We arrived wet and cold , our cycling gear and shoes was dryed for the next day.
Great comfortable beds and the best breakfast, outdoes most of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidm7715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were greeted with a smile by Leon and given a parking disk so we could park our car safely, ( a nice touch). He showed us to our room and told us the essentials, breakfast and wi-fi.
Our room was a superior double on the 2nd floor up a beautiful staircase. The room was large with a small en suite with a shower plus the usual toiletries and more. We had a king size bed plus sitting area with a flat screen TV in each area. The room was all one would expect and more. The extras such as bottled water in a small fridge, chocolates, sweets and fresh flowers added that special touch.
Leon told us about restaurants etc in the area and was knowledgeable about them and for the veggie he was able to say which served that option.
The bed was comfortable and room quiet despite facing the street, so a good nights sleep was had.
Breakfast was a huge selection from fresh fruit, nuts cereals, followed by an equally large cooked option, all served with home made bread. We had scrambled egg and an omelette, both being delicious, ample to set you up for the day.
The whole place has been recently refurbished and was well done with a luxurious feel and those important touches e.g. fresh flowers throughout.
Leon was a good host and we left very satisfied customers after paying our £88, a very reasonable amount.

Room Tip: we only saw the one but it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#8 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Property: Brooklands Guest House
Address: 2 Portland Place | Cumbria, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brooklands Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and elegant, Brooklands Guest House is situated in the heart of historic Penrith. Recently refurbished, our beautifully furnished rooms have fans, alarm clock with iPhone dock, bottled water and hospitality tray with chocolates and biscuits, a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. All our bathrooms come complete with dressing gowns, fluffy white towels and luxury toiletries from the white company for all our needs. Our aim is to provide the very best in comfort and service to our guests.CLICK HOTEL WEBSITE AT TOP OF PAGE TO BOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrith Guest Houses
Brooklands Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing