We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brooklands - paradise at the end of a days cyling in the cold rain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brooklands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Brooklands - paradise at the end of a days cyling in the cold rain”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The most comfortable b&b bed I have ever stayed in. It was so comfortable I had to be dragged out of it to go to evening dinner in the town. Incredible range of fruit at breakfast. They even have Marmite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
190
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here on C2C ride and totally knocked out by the standard of service. We arrived wet and cold , our cycling gear and shoes was dryed for the next day.
Great comfortable beds and the best breakfast, outdoes most of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidm7715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were greeted with a smile by Leon and given a parking disk so we could park our car safely, ( a nice touch). He showed us to our room and told us the essentials, breakfast and wi-fi.
Our room was a superior double on the 2nd floor up a beautiful staircase. The room was large with a small en suite with a shower plus the usual toiletries and more. We had a king size bed plus sitting area with a flat screen TV in each area. The room was all one would expect and more. The extras such as bottled water in a small fridge, chocolates, sweets and fresh flowers added that special touch.
Leon told us about restaurants etc in the area and was knowledgeable about them and for the veggie he was able to say which served that option.
The bed was comfortable and room quiet despite facing the street, so a good nights sleep was had.
Breakfast was a huge selection from fresh fruit, nuts cereals, followed by an equally large cooked option, all served with home made bread. We had scrambled egg and an omelette, both being delicious, ample to set you up for the day.
The whole place has been recently refurbished and was well done with a luxurious feel and those important touches e.g. fresh flowers throughout.
Leon was a good host and we left very satisfied customers after paying our £88, a very reasonable amount.

Room Tip: we only saw the one but it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived late due to travel delays but Leon more than graciously allowed us to check in at about 1030pm. He was there at the door with a quick introduction of his finely appointed guest house. The decor throughout the house is impressive. Not a detail is spared or forgotten.
We stayed in a suite which would've accommodated a couple and a small child. It had a spacious double bed and a twin day bed in a sitting room. The bathroom was clean and bright.
The breakfast was also very good and filling. We both had the generous omelet which didn't allow us to enjoy much of the rest of breakfast! We definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sihyo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at this excellent guest house. Comfortable, clean, well maintained room with a touch of luxury. Not just Coffee and biscuits but fresh fruit awaited us in our room. Luxurious toiletries and bathrobes to relax in. Breakfast was a mammoth task with so much to choose from i was in danger of never getting up from the table. Fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals the most divine full english, so much to choose from. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband stayed here last year when he completed the C2C cycling challenge. he came back raving about how brilliant the place was and couldn't get over how friendly and helpful Leon and his wife were. He decided that we should go again for a short break so i could see for myself.

We were greeted by a warm welcome from Leon when we arrived that set the tone of the stay. His enthusiasm when dealing with guests clearly shows he has a passion for his guest house. I just loved the way the place has been decorated and all the rooms were absolutely spotless and well appointed. There were only two other couples staying that weekend, some owners do not make much effort when there are few guests, but Leon was always very friendly and on hand if we needed anything. The breakfasts were amazing, I can see why they have won awards for them. Everything is fresh and there is so much choice available. Brilliant!

Can't wait to return soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel2mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Must second all the excellent reviews. My sister, daughter and I traveled by train from London for a weekend stay in early March. Welcomed by Leon with a pot of tea and slices of cake. We had a twin and a single room, the twin overlooked a churchyard, very scenic. Although the rooms were not large, they were well appointed and the bathrooms very nice. The chocolate and cookies with tea makings in the room much appreciated. Best of all was the breakfast. In addition to the full English cooked to order was an incredible variety of fresh fruit--the berries were delicious. The location was perfect--we could easily walk to everything in Penrith, including the bus station, where we were able to take a bus to Keswick and see Lake Derwentwater.

Room Tip: The upper rooms at the back overlook a churchyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#10 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
18.8 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Guest House

Property: Brooklands Guest House
Address: 2 Portland Place | Cumbria, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brooklands Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and elegant, Brooklands Guest House is situated in the heart of historic Penrith. Recently refurbished, our beautifully furnished rooms have fans, alarm clock with iPhone dock, bottled water and hospitality tray with chocolates and biscuits, a selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. All our bathrooms come complete with dressing gowns, fluffy white towels and luxury toiletries from the white company for all our needs. Our aim is to provide the very best in comfort and service to our guests.CLICK HOTEL WEBSITE AT TOP OF PAGE TO BOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brooklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrith Guest Houses
Brooklands Guest House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing