We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Penrith
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

So easy to find and park. Lovely room (no view) and large bathroom. When checking in we were given a list of suggested restaurants and found this very helpful. Breakfast in the on-site Little Chef was ideal and so much nicer than the motorway service area that I had originally planned to use. The site is not flat and we had to use the car to get from the room to the Little Chef as it was too steep for a wheelchair - but the Travelodge website did warn of a possible difficulty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    139
    68
    27
    20
See reviews for
116
165
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelling with 2 children and a baby, we were given a friendly and considerate greeting at reception by Martyn.
The room was very clean and comfortable and all the essentials you would expect from a Travelodge were there. The bed was very comfortable and generous. Shower was great.
Good size room for a family.
Only downside was that the room was a little stuffy, but then it was August.
Well located for a stop off on our trip to Scotland.
Glad to have somewhere to eat right next door; Little Chef is not top of my list of places to eat (!), but at least it's family friendly and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank NicC76339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you can't book in advance to get a cheaper rate, DON'T pay £70 for a room with Travelodge. Facilities are SO basic although the bed appeared to be relatively new; only 2 teabags, no biscuits and plastic beakers in bathroom were so thin they appeared almost incapable of actually containing water without collapsing. Water from the sink's cold tap was hot for hours upon arrival and still lukewarm late at night on our return. Housed in Annexe (shabby foyer inside) which was surrounded by discarded cigarette butts - yuk!! Would not go back at this price unless ABSOLUTELY desperate!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Diane H, we’re really sorry to hear about the issues you had at our hotel. We do offer tea and coffee making facilities, which is popular with our customers. If customers require more tea or coffee, they are available from our reception anytime. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Returned here following a fantastic visit last year! Once again could not fault the hotel....lovely rooms and friendly staff! The hotel has had a refurb since last year and was even fresher looking!

The happy chef across from the hotel had friendly staff and Internet access which we too advantage of with an alcoholic drink (they are open till 9pm).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were really disappointed with our stay at the Travelodge. We were only staying one night so we could attend an event nearby and just wanted somewhere basic to sleep that didn't break the bank. At £70 for a room, it wasn't too expensive and we thought we knew what we would get. However, it seems things have become even more basic than we've experienced in the past.
For a start, the receptionist - although friendly - only provided basic information. She didn't tell us there was a breakfast available (a simple box of pastry/fruit juice), nor any information about the wifi. She didn't mention that we could get a discount at the Little Chef next door (we found this out from a piece of paper we got with our booking). It was just, "here's the key, now off you go".
The room itself was similarly disappointing. The bedding didn't fit properly, so the duvet cover ended up flapping around without enough duvet to fill it. There was no shower gel (not even attached to the wall so you couldn't pinch it!), no biscuits with the tea (not an essential, but we've had these in the past) and worst of all, there wasn't even a bath mat, which made getting out of the shower onto a wet floor a bit worrying.
The shower itself was cold and, when we eventually managed to get hot water to come out of it, it was barely more than a trickle, so you had to be leaning back with your legs pressing against the taps to get the water onto your head.
We were happy to have a fairly basic hotel for our quick stop over, but this was beyond basic. There are plenty of B&Bs in the area offering a similar price but with breakfast included, so we'll definitely try one of those next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Penrith, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Vicky H, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so we are truly sorry that this did not happen during your stay. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of proving a quality service to all guests. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had an over night stay and found the staff to be very friendly.The room was excellent and we had a great nights sleep in the massive bed!! The hotel was well situated and was very quiet. The bathroom was spotless and had an excellent power shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Cornelius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The family room was clean, bright and comfortable.
The Travelodge was easy to locate with handy adequate parking.
I would recommend this Travelodge to fellow travellers as one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Penrith

Property: Travelodge Penrith
Address: Redhills Lane, Penrith CA11 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Penrith 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Penrith Hotel Penrith
Penrith Travel Lodge
Penrith Travelodge
Travel Lodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing