We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food”
Review of Mrs Millers

Mrs Millers
Ranked #20 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is part of a garden centre however on a Friday and Saturday evening it opens as a restaurant serving outstanding an fine dining experience. I found it by chance during a holiday and consider it as a hidden gem.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The food was not what you might have expected from what is in effect a tea room attached to the Garden Centre, that said the food was outstanding excellent flavours and inventive dishes. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan310843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    37
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we hadn't booked but they fitted us in. excellent sunday lunch at mrs.millers - recommended. couldn't manage 3rd course. great service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great lunch out. Nice place. Very good food and service.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have been here a couple for times before, but to be honest we had forgotten about the place.
A visit to a restaurant in Penrith the previous night (Four and Twenty) and asking about that restaurant made us come here again for a spot of lunch.
They are connected.

Mrs Millers in set in a garden centre, a good one as well.
We walked in on a Saturday lunchtime, we were greeted warmly and shown to a table.
There were four other tables occupied when we arrived and a few more came in whilst we were there.

Our waiter was a lovely young man, and chatted away to us and told us a bit about Millers and the food.
A great asset to the place we both thought.

Food wise...
The menu was pretty good in my opinion.
Lots of choice for a 'proper' meal or just a light bite.
We both chose the 'special of the day' which was homemade broccoli and stilton soup and homemade bread, it was lovely.
To follow we had local gammon, homemade chunky chips and a fried runny egg with it.
We both agreed the gammon was the best we had ever eaten, it was so tender and moist.
The chips were extra fluffy and really crispy, they tasted great!
This bargain meal was only £6 a head.
I must say that I liked the quirky presentation of the cutlery and bread.

We spotted some leaflets about dining there on an evening.
They do Fridays and Saturdays as a more fine dining night.
The menus look amazing and we will definitely be booking in for an evening of culinary delight soon.

Our bill was about £15/£16, I forget the exact amount as I bought some scones to take home with us.
That was for the two meals, a pot of tea and a coke.
Service charge is left for the customers to give if they so wish.
We tipped up as the service was spot on by both on the lunch time we were there.

A lovely place, thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whatnamecaniuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“ok dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

phoned before we went as my husband is coiliac. Talked to the chef he said he would be able to cater for us.. Arriving it was quite full but they had saved us a table. The waitress told us that there was not many options but could have the roast beef with no yorkshire puds. We both went for the roast dinner there was a bit of a wait but the waitress came and apoligised and gave us a drink on the house. Dont know why they were not coping as there seemed to be plenty of kitchen staff. The dinner when we got it beef a bit fatty for my liking gravy had rather a strong herby flavour I think sage just a touch to much flavouring. Tasted my husbands gravy and it tasted the same as mine but no after affects so must have been gluten free. I had a pud which was ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember03312015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had pan fried sea bass, taste great, reasonable size portion, still have room for desert afterwards.
Great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Millers also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Mrs Millers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing