We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

ShowmeCumbria Tours & Transfers
Ranked #4 of 11 Tours in Penrith
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A well established full-day and half-day tour company operating personal tours in and around Cumbria & the Lake District. Showmecumbria is run by a native of Cumbria, therefore, has extensive knowledge of the Lakes and surrounding unknown areas.Majority of tours are bespoke and charged per tour not per person with collection from your accommodation and can carry up to six passengers including children having child seat facilities. Rick Steves recommended.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did a tour of the lakes with Andy and were very happy with the experience. Andy is very knowledgeable and being a local makes all the difference. He was very good with the kids and made sure we saw the best sampler of cumbria that we could in the short time! Particularly remember the wonderful country inn he stopped at for lunch!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheIndianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“PERFECT DAY!We saw and learned so much about the Lake District.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were picked up at our B&B and asked what we were most interested in seeing. Then we spent a relaxing afternoon seeing sights and hearing stories of people and places that were so fun and interesting. Because Andy grew up in the area we felt we got "inside" information. I wanted to see Beatrix Potters farm and saw that but also the friends home she and her parents often visited when she was a young girl.
The scenery was beautiful and we feel we learned a lot and got more than our moneys worth.
The CD Andy made for us with pics. of us at different sites is a treasure.
I would definitely recommend going on a tour by Show Me Cumbria for anyone visiting the Late District of England.
Thank you Andy
Thanks Andy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great guide and custom tour”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My mom and I only had a few days in the Lake District and were recommended to ShowmeCumbria by our hotel. Not having a car, and staying outside a city center, we were so happy with the opportunity for a custom guided tour of the surrounding areas. Andy is extremely knowledgeable and personable, and worked with us to plan a perfect half day tour that would include all areas we were interested in. Castles, stone circles, photo ops, black sheep, highland cows, Beatrix Potter heritage sites, neighboring towns, all within a few hours! The tour is a great value for a reasonable price. We were also so appreciative that Andy was able to fit us in on a holiday as well as offering a complimentary CD with photos he had taken for us through out the day. Travelling in twos, it can be difficult getting pictures of both of us together so it was a really nice touch to take pictures of us in front of sites throughout our day. We also utilized Andy's transfer service on following days to get to other towns, and the train station when we departed. Highly recommend both tour and transfer services, really enjoyed our time in the Lake District with Andy's help.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing tour and an amazing time”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family did a 5 hour tour of the Lake District with Andy. It was a truly wonderful experience and one of the highlights of an 11 day trip to Great Britain. Andy was both knowledgeable and delightful. His knowledge of the backroads and best views in the Lake District is something that you could never replicate on your own. This was our second visit to the Lake District and Andy showed us a side that we completely missed the first time. I cannot recommend Andy highly enough. If we go back I would not hesitate to use him again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesaw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
“Excellent guide & tour”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My group of 4 found Andy Jackson of ShowmeCumbria via Trip Advisor. We had a single day in which to see the highlights of the truly beautiful Lake District, and Andy made the most of it. A native of the area, he knew of off the beaten track spots as well as the don't-miss sights. About a week before our arrival, he asked about our interests so he could customize a tour, which he did most successfully. Andy is available by the day or the hour; we hired him for 5 hours, and extended it to 6 as we were enjoying ourselves so much.

Most guide books speak of the beautiful hikes in the region; we were concerned that since we are not hikers, we'd miss out. Andy made sure that we didn't. As a free service, he also photographs you and the sights, compiles the photos on a disc, and sends it to your home after the trip. (He even returned a sweater (to the US) that we left behind!) We got way more than our money's worth from this knowledgeable and personable guide.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally613Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShowmeCumbria Tours & Transfers also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to ShowmeCumbria Tours & Transfers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing