We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky garden centre with lovely restaurant”

Larch Cottage Nurseries
Ranked #75 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Casa Verde is located at the heart of the beautiful Larch Cottage Nurseries. The terraced restaurant serves a light mediterranean Menu, sumptuous home-made cakes and wonderful Italian coffee and wines. All food is made here on site using local produce and organic vegetables from our own kitchen garden.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quirky garden centre with lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our third visit and as it was a busy Saturday in holiday time I rang to see if we could book. Yes we could and I was asked where we would like to sit. We had a lovely table under the canopy on the open balcony, just perfect.
The food was delicious. I had fish cakes and salad followed by a lemon tart which was to die for! Service was a bit slow but we were not rushed even though they were busy and we were able to linger and chat for 3 hours . We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmullanjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    22
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like plants and good food then this is for you.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This has to be my most favourite garden centre in the UK, and that's a big statement. First of all just wander around the garden centre and take in some great plants, there's a surprize around every corner, if you are looking for hard to find plants this is the place, their supply of garden furniture and statues is just wonderful, don't plan on a quick visit, take your time.
now the food, good, varied, and the location on the terrace is ideal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Never tire of visiting this place, and the food is great too.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another great visit here with friends. You could spend all day wandering around this amazing place, hidden gems all over. We usually have lunch here, but this time had coffee and scones. The sultana and orange and cheese and herb were just delicious, and home made.

Sitting on the terrace looking over the gardens is a delight.

The Art gallery is also very good, all in all a fantastic day out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bren181254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

not a gardener but visited with friends really enjoyed walking round the gardens and the shop ! would go back to try the restaurant which was really busy. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great plants lovely cakes”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to visit for the keen gardener. Plants are not the cheapest but the selection is great and all the plants are healthy and well looked after. There is also an art gallery. After a walk round the extensive plant display area there is a lovely cafe/ restaurant where the cakes are very good. Well worth a visit if you are in the area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larch Cottage Nurseries also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Larch Cottage Nurseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing