We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens
Ranked #9 of 55 things to do in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dalemain has been the home of the Hasell-McCosh Family for eleven generations. Here, visitors can discover and enjoy a fine mixture of Mediaeval, Tudor & early Georgian architecture and Award Winning Gardens, richly planted with unusual combinations of flowers and shrubs. Highlights include the Rose Walk, Ancient Apple Trees, Tudor Knot Garden, Blue Himalayan Poppies, Earth Sculpture and Stumpery. Home to the International Marmalade Festival. Homemade food served in the Mediaeval Hall Tearoom, Historic Parkland with the Dacre Walk, Gift Shop with Antiques,Plant Sales, Special Events throughout the year & Group Bookings. Free parking. HHA/Christie's Garden of the Year Award 2013.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very disappointed. Some interesting things, the Chinese room and the Tudor panelling & Jane Eyre was filmed there which they don't really publicise. Gardens are nice, but I wouldnt say spectacular, although I didn't see all of them (hay fever ). The rooms of the house tend to give the impression that they are filled with a lot of unrelated stuff no matter what era they belonged to. Also the soup in the tearoom was the worst I've tasted. I've been to much better houses with smaller entrance fees.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zentangled2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Dalemain. We are sorry you felt disappointed by your visit, however we are pleased you enjoyed the Chinese room and Tudor panelling and we are sorry you did not get to see the all the gardens due to your hayfever.

Best wishes
Dalemain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    51
    21
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
“Disappointing house and garden”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went to see this house on the recommendations on their website including their statement that they won garden of the year 2013. We were disappointed to find a garden in semi disarray, paths difficult to walk due to overgrown plants, and rose bushes that hadn't appeared to be cut back for several seasons. The house did not have several rooms open to visitors, and those that we're were difficult to relate to, or engage with.

After visiting several National Trust properties in the area, the favourable reviews on their website lead us to believe we would see an outstanding privately owned property, this did not appear to match the gardens and house that we visited.

Never one to not praise something when done well, their collection of marmalades, and their varieties were great for anyone who likes marmalade. However, this is overshadowed by the rest of the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank welshdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for visiting Dalemain and for your feedback. Whilst we are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit to our old fashioned and natural gardens with a wonderful and incredible collection of plants, we do appreciate that the last 8 weeks of drought have been quite harsh on the plants. The rose bushes were cut back in Autumn 2013 although everyone has a different way of planting and gardening and how a garden should be.

We are a family home and it's not possible for every room to be open to the public and we are very proud of our guides who do a tremendous job of taking visitors around the house and explaining the history of the building.

Once again thank you for your comments and we are glad that you liked our collection of Marmalades.

With best wishes for a lovely summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable morning!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent a very enjoyable morning exploring Dalemain Mansion including a very informative and engaging guided tour with Jan and delicious elevenses in the tea room. The gardens are beautiful and well worth a good walk around. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming and the two girls in the tea room coped exceptionally well when a large coach party descended. We found ourselves at the back at the queue but to our pleasant surprise the crowds were dealt with quickly and efficiently. A great experience all around, thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden and Lunch”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just wanted to see the gardens, especially the blue poppies. Unfortunately we could not navigate the steep steps down to where the blue poppies were. Which was a bit disappointing. The rest of the garden was lovely and tranquil. The panninis were very nice. My father had a ploughmans which was like a mountain on a plate, cheese, ham and pork pie!!! The cafe is dark ,as another person has said. I think you need to put a light in the corridor. They sell a lot of marmalade, I can recommend Jane's Marmalade if you like it tangy and chunky. I was disappointed with the size of the shop. My father was in a wheelchair so it was quite a challenge to get him through the shop into the gardens. I was also disappointed that I couldn't buy the animal shaped signs that were in the gardens, which on your website says that you can buy them. They would have been nice for our grandchildren to put in their garden.
But all in all we had a nice day

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank royalblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your visit to Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. The staff at Dalemain work very hard to make sure visitors get the most out of their visit and we are sorry on this occasion that you were unable to see the blue poppies in the low garden. To address this we have planted a smaller bed of blue poppies in the main garden that we will add to the garden map. The darkness in the tearoom is due to it being the Mediaeval Hall, the oldest part of the house and grade 1 listed. We are however looking at ways of improving the lighting in the tearoom moving forward without destroying the historic atmosphere. We do appear to have a small selection of the animal shapes in the shop and I am sorry you weren't directed to them. Once again thank you for visiting Dalemain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous gardens”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a really gem at this time of year. The quality of the planting is terrific and the ambiance is calming. The tearoom and home baking is pretty good too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brunoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDalemain, Manager at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Dalemain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing