We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks!!!!”
Review of The Cross Keys Inn

The Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #15 of 192 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Just recently moved to the area and this pub being our local, it would have been rude not to give the food a try. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Inside is very pleasant and comfortable. An open fire in the main bar ready for the winter nights. There is a small car park, however most people parked on the side roads which are quiet.

This is a very popular place so I would very strongly recommend that you book in advance. We had visited a couple of times on the off chance of getting a meal to be advised either there was a long wait or were fully booked.

The restaurant upstairs has lovely views over the countryside and is very pleasant. Opted for the pate followed by the rump steak. Both tasted fantastic.

The restaurant felt a little dis-jointed in how they operated and drinks would take some time to arrive. The bar has a couple of guest ales on, both of which were tried and very drinkable.

Think restaurant prices rather than pub prices, but this is something I did not begrudge as the quality, presentation and taste of the food was good.

I have eaten there a few times since and the food, beer and welcome has been equally as good.

Just remember to book a table!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sauditaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2019

We were staying at the nearby Llamas Pyjamas and decided to eat here. It was ok, but the menu was very limited and when two of your five starters are unavailable, it's even worse. The food when it arrived (we were warned about a delay due to a large table order just before us) was again okay, but no where near as good as the prices implied. Definately wouldn't go out of my way to visit again.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thistle-do-nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We came for a family meal and it was 5 star. My mother in law had a small fish and chips, she loved it. Hubby had Cumberland sausage and chips and I had the fish platter. Beautifully presented, hot and tasty. At a fraction of the price you would pay in the Lakes. Fabulous place.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank VixHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Came to Penrith on friday with family for my in-laws golden wedding anniversary, with our children and sister/brother in law :-) We found out from local websites and recommdations... We were not disappointed! The Cross Keys looks like an ordinary pub from outside, but the interior is lovely and spacious. The restaurant is upstairs to make the best of the view! It's a good menu and the only downside is the price, some of the starters are on the expensive side (e.g. £6.50-£7.50) and the mains vary from £10-£20 but the food tastes lovely, especially the 'flat-iron' steak. Will probably go back, whilst we're here during the week. There's a darts board and a pool table. Staff are very nice. Would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank helenj772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

It was our first time at The Cross Keys and we wasn't dissapointed. We both had the Roast Beef Sunday Dinner, and it was pefectly cooked and presented. The best Sunday dinner we have had in a long time. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Inn also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing