We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun pottery experience - not just for children!”
Review of Crafty Monkeys

Crafty Monkeys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A warm family welcome awaits you at our craft studio where you can have a go no matter what age or ability! No booking necessary during opening hours for all activities apart from the potter's wheels where tuition is included. All other crafts Decopatch, pottery painting and mosaics initial instruction given as required! Prices start at just £6.50. We can fully glaze and fire in our studio or loads of take home on the day options. We have our own toilet and baby change. Hot and cold drink facilities.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun pottery experience – not just for children!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On holiday in the Lake District and fancied doing something a bit different. I’ve always wanted to have a go on a potter’s wheel so got in contact with Crafty Monkeys. Bit unsure at first – the website seemed to be geared towards kid’s activities, but don’t be fooled – adults are very welcome there too! Tim (owner) was obviously very knowledgeable and patient and spent as long as necessary with us to produce something that we could take away with us.

A fun experience for all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodaddictedfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Crafty Day Out”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Myself and my partner were visiting the Lake District on a walking and cycling holiday. After embarking on a long cycling venture on the Tuesday we very much welcomed a down day on the Wednesday.

After searching the internet for things to do we found 'Crafty Monkeys' and thought we would try our hand at a bit of pottery.

The site is very accessible with a large car park located only a stone’s throw away. From stepping in the door to leaving 'Crafty Monkeys' we were warmly welcomed and made to feel right at home and at ease with a variety of crafts to try.

The staff were very friendly and enthusiastic and showed a clear passion for making arts accessible for a variety of ages, interests and abilities; whilst providing an excellent customer service.

We both had a thoroughly good time and craft to take away with us as a momentum. We would both highly recommend visiting 'Crafty Monkeys' as you are guaranteed a fab day out, regardless of age.

As the saying goes 'You are never too old to try something new'.

Well done guys, keep up the good work!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Welcoming, well organised, great selection of activities for different ages (adults too). My two nephews have never been so absorbed. They shared a table and didn't argue once! Neither of them could be persuaded to part with their creations, even while playing crazy golf at Castle Park. With Halloween and Christmas themes coming up later in the year, I know they would enjoy a return visit. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Came to crafty monkeys with our daughter last week and I have to say we were not disappointed. Crafty monkeys has a very welcoming atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. There is something to do for all ages and budgets no one will be disappointed. Please visit crafty monkeys you'll love it. We did. Thank you too all the team at crafty monkeys. Your doing a great job x

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank helen1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“An Addictive 'must do' attraction”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Came in today on our last day of holiday, not knowing what to expect. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. A warm and friendly welcome by a lovely couple. We came with children aged 15, 8 & 4. Everything was very well explained and both owners were extremely helpful. The kids loved it and wanted to stay all day. Everyone is catered for here, every budget, every ability, even adults. Don't dismiss this little gem in the heart of Penrith, you won't regret it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank smurphy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crafty Monkeys also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Crafty Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing