We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect base”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Smithy House

Smithy House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smithy House
The lounge with log burning stove The downstairs bedroom with slipper bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Smithy House
The lounge with log burning stove
The downstairs bedroom with slipper bath
4 poster king size bedroom with shower
Twin bedroom with flat screen dvd and tv
kitchen and dining room with 'Esse cooker'
The lounge with the wood burning stove
Kitchen and diner with 'Esse' range cooker
Upstairs shower, wc and hand basin
The house in the background from the green
The local pub The kings Arms
The local Brantwood Hotel
Smithy House Visit Britain 4 star award
The garden and drive showing the village green
The downstairs bedroom
The utility room
Lake Ullswater
Upstairs en -suite with toilet, shower and hand basin.
Downstairs ensuite toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jak3007
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect base”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Smithy House had everything we needed and more, a perfect base for a break in the Lakes. The cottage is charming and quirky, a short drive to Ullswater and within easy reach of lots of other lakes and attractions. The bedrooms were large and comfortable, there was plenty of room to relax in the living room and a lovely large dining table in the kitchen, so our family of 5 with 2 under 10s weren't under each others feet. We had a nice meal in the pub one lunchtime, and Sainsbury's delivered everything else we needed. Everything was clean and tidy and well cared for. There were a few flies in the kitchen (we visited late October) but don't imagine this could have been helped. Soap in the bathrooms would have been nice but that is about all I could suggest was missing. We visited Lowther Castle with the children (6 and 10) on the recommendation of a friend with younger children, can thoroughly recommend a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and hope you stay with us again.
Regards Colin Smith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahsurewel...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could possibly need and more!”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We lucked out when we booked this house! Our first trip to the Lake District so there were lots of boxes to tick. We stay in holiday rentals a lot so usually our shortlist comes down to a particular order:
Location - near beautiful places with things to do and sufficiently away from it all to feel we've escaped but within a short drive to supermarkets and amenities.
Facilities - washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, TV, WiFi and an en-suite (because we're Londoner's with a teenager and we like to hike but have a messy 10 year old in tow!)
Character - we love sympathetically converted buildings that fit in with their venacular.
A pleasant garden - because listening to the birds (I don't think I've ever heard so many!) with a glass of wine or a cuppa with a slice of Victoria sponge is the best way to end the day! And the stars at night are awesome...

Smithy House has all this and more. And boy were we thankful for all those extra touches when we stayed there! My youngest had a tummy bug and gave it to me so the hot water bottles and the TV with DVD in his room were a God send.
This was also the first place we'd ever stayed where it wouldn't have mattered if we'd forgotten the loo roll, or the shampoo, or the soap! There was tea bags, foil, bin bags - even a fresh pot of raspberry jam and a selection of alcoholic beverages on arrival!

There are more pots, pans, crockery and cutlery than you will ever use. Coffee machines and sandwich makers. Various gizmos and gadgets I didn't even know what to do with!
And a wonderful warming stove in the kitchen that was just a joy to sit beside with the morning cuppa.

If you've ever stayed in a boutique hotel, you'll appreciate the luxury of soaking in a slipper bath that is only a few steps away from the comfiest of beds, with plump pillows, rustly duvet and crisp white cotton sheets.

We had a marvelous time and, if it weren't for pesky GCSE revision, we'd have stayed for two weeks.

Colin is a tremendous and helpful host. Communication and directions were faultless.

I'm reluctant to leave this review as I'm worried it might mean the place gets booked up for the next few years!

Ullswater is breathtaking and minutes away and there is so much more to do within a 20 minute drive or so - Hallin Fell, Aira Force, Derwent water and Whinlatter Forest were our highlights. We didn't manage to climb Helvellyn because we ran out of time, but will be back.

Don't hesitate to book this house. It's a good one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Just noticed this absolutely fantastic review I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can get away again and book with us in The Lake District.
Regards Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichlady
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of nights”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely couple of nights at Smithy House. The village of Stainton is a fantastic location for visiting the Lakes and surrounding areas, pub was lively and food good. We had a lovely time catching up with family, facilities in the house were ideal and all of high quality. Thank you for letting us have a short stay too at this time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope you find the time to book again.colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, full of character and set in a peaceful location”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for two nights with the family and although it rained for nearly our entire stay we had a relaxing an enjoyable break and a rare chance for us all to get together. The house is spacious, very well equipped and furnished with lots of instructions and post it notes scattered around to help make your stay easier. We loved the real fire - great to come back to after getting wet at the Aira Force waterfall which is definitely worth a visit and more spectacular when its been raining! We couldn't get into the local pub but had a delicious meal at the Brantwood Hotel and the staff were lovely and helpful. Hope to stay again with family and friends and with luck the weather will be kinder to us next time. Thank you Colin for making us feel so welcome in your lovely holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2016
I'm pleased you enjoyed it and will try to do something about the weather next time.
Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette19...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Myself and five friends stayed here for a girlie weekend. The cottage is absolutely wonderful and as previous reviewers have stated, very well appointed. The village has a pub, a small shop and a restaurant, none of which we used. We simply wanted a weekend away doing nothing and the cottage was just perfect for that. The option of a welcome drink on arrival was a nice touch too. We hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Thanks Colette and we certainly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyWLa...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas stay in cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in Smithy House for a week over Christmas and it met all our expectations. The house is tastefully decorated, very comfortable with lots of attention to detail and very well equipped. With the log burner and range cooker it felt very warm and cosy. We had no problem cooking our Christmas dinner there and sitting round the pine table in the cottage style kitchen/ dining room was lovely. Location is good- Stainton is quiet and peaceful but just off the A66 so easy to get to Penrith, Keswick, Ullswater etc. Colin the owner was helpful when making the booking and providing info and answering questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2016
Thanks for the review, your Christmas dinner sounds lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikado2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem of a place to stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my family stayed here for 3 nights for my husbands 50th birthday,what a beautiful and homely place to stay,it was magical with all the homely touches and also catered for every thing and every one.i have stayed at a lot of beautiful cottages but this is the best one and I carnt wait to book and go back again,I really didn't want to come home I now wish I'd booked it for longer.colin was fab from booking and keeping in touch till we came home,I must say your cottage is a credit to you and your wife,it's amazing,thank you.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing