We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, but with some negatives” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundthorn Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall good, but with some negatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were breaking our journey from London to Scotland, so this hotel is conveniently close to the M6. The exterior is stunning, as are the views across the lovely countryside. Inside, I was a little disappointed by the reception/dining area, as the decor was more pub than hotel. But I did appreciate our bedroom which was spacious, well-appointed, with a good bathroom and great views. Again, I found the dinner menu disappointing - I had expected an interesting table d'hote menu, but it was fairly uninspiring pub grub. However, the breakfast was excellent - lovely choice of fresh fruits etc., then a freshly-cooked full English. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, despite the niggles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundthorn_CH, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 83 Janet,

Thank you for your feedback; I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and delighted that you were able to take the time to enjoy the room and of course the magnificent views; we are very lucky to be situated in an area of such natural beauty.

In regards to the 'niggles', obviously I am sorry that there was any small thing that would tarnish your otherwise happy stay with us - it is for this reason that we always endeavour to ensure that guests know what type of establishment we are before their arrival - our website and other marketing clearly states we are a Country House, not a Hotel, and also that there is no Restaurant; the supper menu we proivide is simply designed as an informal option for residents that wish to dine in the comfortable surrounsdings of our Cosy Lounge Bar area. It is designed to high specifiations, with locally sourced produce, and is normally greatly recieved.

Furthermore, staff are always more than happy to advise of more formal restaurants and eateries in the town centre, which is only minutes away.

All of our marketing does state this information, so I am a little dissapointed that you were expecting more of Hotel environment, rather than the Warm, Luxurious Country House experience that we pride ourselves on. If this information was not clear to you prior to your arrival, I can only apologise for any mistakes on our part, and hope that now it is explained, you are much happier with the style of decor and dining options that you found.

Janet, I do hope this response eradicates any residual dissatisfaction you may have. I am, of course happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, particularly the breakfast! I just wanted to take the time here to dispel any further confusion for other travellers, and to wish you well and do hope you return again sometime in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give feedback.

Kindest regards,

Graham Carruthers
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    59
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
104
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had our wedding here on the 1st of september, along with a nights stay over, every aspect was perfect, there wasn't anything any member of our wedding party could fault, they made the reception room look absolutely amazing, the food was out of this world and the bedrooms were all immaculate, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundthorn_CH, Wedding Co-ordinator at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Lauren

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback - I am delighted you enjoyed your special day here! We're very proud of the food and service we provide here at The Roundthorn, so are thrilled that you wanted to share your appreciation. I can say on behalf of myself and everyone here at the Roundthorn that it really was an absolute pleasure to be a part of your Wedding Celebrations, and wish you both our best wishes for a long and happy future together.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Siobhan Canniffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Roundthorn for on night. We had booked a twin room two weeks before the date we arrived. Upon arrival we were told that they had made a errror and that the twin room was already booked by another guest but they had a double room for us. This room No 10 was in the attic. There was a double bed and they had prepared a sofa bed. This sofa bed had a mattress about 3 inches deep. I am not sure how they expected anyone to sleep comfortably on a sofa bed and charge for it! The room was dusty and not hoovered. I found debris of previous guests on the carpet eg coins, earrings).The skirting boards was lined with dust. Carpet corners were also not hoovered for some time as the dust was visible. We had dinner. We waited for half and hour for the food to arrive. The vegatarian curry was cold and inedible. I threw up after eating the food. Breakfast was very disappointing. Our salt and pepper condiment set was empty. So I went to the next table's condiment set and they were empty too. I went to look for the waitress and could not find her. One waitress was covering the breakfast sitting. By the time she got the toast, the food went cold. Wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundthorn_CH, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Nazzy 50,

We, as always, appreciate all feedback from our guests, and must once again apologise in regards to the error that was made when taking your booking, in that we miscalculated the amount of Twin rooms available. The small mistake was then was picked up almost immediately, and we did try to reach you on the number provided to resolve the issue, but to no avail. At this stage we thought our best option was to offer you our mini suite, which has a King size bed, and the option of a sofa bed. Although on the top floor, it is far from an “attic room” – and to quote another reviewer who posted a tip on here: “Ask for Room 10.”

A Senior Manager was then made available to welcome you, apologise and explain the situation and show you to your room – at this stage she was told you were happy with the arrangement we had made for you – apparently this was not the case. It does seem to be the case, however, that from a result of this situation, you were unable to enjoy the rest of your stay.

I cannot comment directly upon the other elements that you found fault with, or their accuracy, as unfortunately they were not brought to our attention at the time. Of course we are sorry that you were unhappy; nevertheless, I can only imagine that if things were as bad as for you to feel poorly, and for you to find the food “inedible”, you would have surely wanted to inform staff of this at the time. I must also point out that our Supper Menu and (award winning) Breakfasts are usually greatly received.

The small team here at the Roundthorn are regularly praised by residents and other customers for being extremely friendly and attentive, and I know for a fact that you were asked at least 3 times during your stay, including on checkout, whether everything was to your satisfaction. The fact that you let such disappointment go unstated, combined with your other “wonderfully negative reviews of almost everywhere you have ever stayed”, I would hope would encourage other visitors to this website to be cautious of your comments.

Occasionally small mistakes can be made, so at the Roundthorn we do everything possible to correct them when they do occur, which we felt we had done on this occasion. Other than that I can only once again say how sorry I am that you did not enjoy your stay.

Graham Carruthers
Proprieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,120 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've used the Rounthorn several times for Team Meetings and the 5 star rating applies to each occasion we've stayed.

Our latest stay in August was, as ever, superb. The service is amazing and the staff are professional, polite and attentive without being overbearing. Seldom have I experienced a business environment in such an excellent hotel with breathtaking views and it makes for a really productive meeting.

Of course, the exceptional food really helps with this and breakfast, lunch and dinner were delicious and substantial. All in all, highly recommended for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel (Room 5 is best). They're all really quite due to the rura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundthorn_CH, Owner at Roundthorn Country House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your taking the time out to pass on your kind feedback - I'm so pleased you continue to enjoy the food and service we provide here at the Roundthorn.

I have passed your comments on to the rest of the staff, who are delighted that their efforts are appreciated.

On behalf of myself and everyone here at the Roundthorn, we look forward to hopefully greeting you and your team many more times in the future.

Thank you,

Graham Carruthers
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed over to break up the trip from visit to Scotland and was so pleased I changed it from originally planning to stay in Carlisle. Room at the top was ours and so spacious with huge bathroom. Quirky beams in roof and felt totally chilled out in there and quite happy to stay put! Meal was good value and tasty and the service is good and breakfast great and just basic stuff to please all. Because the Hotel has only few rooms ( in main building) it was nice to feel more home comfort than large hotel with no character. Views are fantastic and gardens are beautiful to sit and have glass of wine or just a coffee. Quiet surroundings, no main roads or noisy streets so slept like log!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fuller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and I cannot fault anything about this hotel the staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and have very traditional to ultra modern rooms. Its a few minute drive into Penrith or eat in the bar the menu is limited but sufficient for a two night stay. cant fault anything about this hotel at all if you want to get away from the larger chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A jewel in the North West! Excellent value, stylish, spotless and with staff who really care about their guests. Spacious rooms, modern styling in a stunning setting. Evening menu was great and very tasty, breakfast had good choice and fresh local produce. All staff really worked to make the stay enjoyable. Will stay again when in the area, and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room was well equipped and good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idlerocksdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Penrith
#3 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing