We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding bells.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding bells.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My sister got married here and it was seriously beautiful, the ceremony was lovely, the rooms were nice, the surroundings were spot on, the dining area was lovely! It was amazing, truly loved everything about it, no complaints at all!(: x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
105
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for two nights on our way back from Scotland. It is ideally located just off the M6, in the Lake Dostrict area, but a satnav or an ipad/iphone with maps is needed to get to it easily. The place has lots of character provided by its Grade II listed building, in the middle of a nice garden and with stunning views over the Eden Valley. I was very excited to be accomodated somewhere that did not look or feel like a sterile business hotel environment. There are just 10 rooms which also brings in some of the downsides:

- there is not much choice for breakfast in the morning; we also tried dinner and were quite let down - food was very basic and seemed like the chicken was from the previous day
- the room we had had fantastic views, but the period furniture made it look a bit too crowded...for example, the flatscreen TV could have probably been mounted on the wall in front of the bed instead of us having to move its stand away from the bed curtains so that we could get to watch some Olympics action.
- there are cracks on the ceiling in the bathroom and the floor carpet could have done with some more vacuuming; great white fluffy towels provided, though

Thumbs up for the chrystal chandeliers and for the staircase window.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for just one night last week in the large family room
Reasonable value, as being able to have a room with a double and two singles meant we didn't have to book two rooms as we normally do. (Two teenage boys)
Very large room with stunning views over the hills.
Bathroom also had a huge window with similar views (although very visible from front car park so do need to pull blind down!)

Staff very welcoming and breakfast the next morning also had everything we wanted.

Only a small establishment, so no restaurant, but plenty of good eating pubs nearby

Room Tip: Get a room at front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Classy, elegant , stylish were ally enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here from the 3rd to the 5th June and was very impressed. We were in room 1 and it had everything we needed. As it was the Jubilee weekend we got a complimentary free afternoon tea which was a lovely touch. We did not eat here apart from breakfast which was wonderful!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at the Cross Keys on one night and the Boot and Shoe in Greystokes the next night. Both were very good meals and very reasonable. I would recommend this to anyone and will definately go back again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Overall a very pleasant stay in this small hotel.

Parking: lots of free parking
Service: excellent throughout our 3 night stay
Room: very comfortable. 8 TV channels. Smallish bathroom. Walls are very thin as noted by someone previously but fortunately the people staying around us went to sleep at a similar time.
Grounds: lovely smallish garden
Location: 1 1/2 miles out of Penrith so drove everywhere
Food: really good a la carte breakfast. Restaurant only average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

A family holiday over the easter period with my wife and 2yr old son, quick simple check in with an escort to our room, we were greeted with an easter egg on our sons bed which he was very excited about totally unexpected but a nice touch.

The room was spacious with its own fire (we never lit the fire due to having our son with us) but it looked like it was working, the bathroom came with good quality selection of soaps and moisturizers and the bath/shower was very powerful and instantly hot with no loss of pressure.

We had an evening meal on the first night which was well prepared and tasted lovely while the staff were friendly throughout.

Breakfast was by far the best breakfast ive had on my travels, everything was available from a vast selection of fresh fruit and cereal, a selection of fresh fruit juice to toasted fruit buns not to mention the availability of a design your own full english breakfast which was very well prepared and perfect to open the day.

overall a very enjoyable experience from the friendly staff to the little mini eggs placed around the hotel for people to help themselves, not to mention the fantastic views across the eden valley.

we did experience 2 problems during our 4 day stay,

1: on the last day a large family of foreign visitors arrived and we were running late at breakfast and when we arrived they had literally taken all the fruit and cereal, my wife noticed them putting it in their bags, however this left us with very little choice, my son who is very vocal for a 2 yr old preceded to tell the staff that "they had no strawberrys or blueberrys for him and he wasnt happy", the woman was a little embarrassed that the whole breakfast table had been cleared, but like i said the little things count, she went away and brought out a whole tray of fresh fruit just for my son.

2: the second problem is the place is used by a lot of family ramblers, because it is obviously a very old mansion the walls a pretty thin, we found that at between the hours of 05:45 and 07:30 these families could be heard leaving the hotel, not the hotels faults but the inconsiderate guests being noisy at stupid o'clock.

both bad experiences take nothing away from the hotel, but if your gonna stay here then be aware that some guests fail to remember that not everyone is awake before 08:00.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the room in our pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisfield1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Penrith
#3 Romantic Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing