We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roundthorn Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice and friendly, beautiful place, it has a lovely warm homely feel.

Fantastic!

Would return tomorrow

5/5

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprillovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
106
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Very attractive country house, quirky; friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a great view. Oddly lacking a restaurant, but the bar meals are fine, it seems hardly worth the alternative local hostelries if you are tired.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

An excellent hotel. Room beautiful and service second to non. Attention to detail. Food excellent would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knobbler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for one night, having visited a nearby location and decided, in advance, to make a full day of it. We booked it on the internet, with the hotel and were surprised, the following day to receive a phone call from the owner/manager? to tell us that on the night we were there there would be a large party there and told us that he was placing us in his 'best' room (it seems to be the one with the photos on his website) well away from the front, bar and car park so we would not be disturbed. The room was large, it also had a kitchen attached with a fridge, microwave, toaster as well as the usual tea/coffee/biscuits. We never heard a thing from the (rather large) gathering of noisy males downstairs. We did use the Residents Lounge, and if management are reading this would suggest that this lounge be moved to somewhere with natural light that is not a corridor for all members of staff to pass through what seemed to be every minute of the hour or so we stayed in there looking at maps with cardboard boxes of wine glasses and management staff going into private quarters. The breakfast was extremely good and every member of staff we encountered was very welcoming. The views from the hotel across the valley and mountains are truly magnificent. Following reading reviews on this site we went to the Cross Keys at Carleton (just down the hill) for the evening meal, another extremely good experience. Go again, it costs a bit more but YES.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband booked us in here for a night for my birthday. On his booking form he asked if we could have a nice room as it was his wife's birthday. Well, his request was certainly answered as we were allocated a room on the front of the hotel with a breathtaking view across the valley. (Room 7) I was absolutely delighted. The decor was lovely, extremely clean and the bed really comfy. The en-suite was a spacious shower - hot and powerful, provided you don't prefer a bath. A bottle of sparkly, requested by my niece was waiting in the room when we entered - a lovely surprise!

We could not find fault with the staff - they were excellent!. We had a chat with the owner who recommended places to eat in the evening as the hotel does not have a restaurant , but does have a supper menu in the bar. It is not often you get hotels recommending other establishments, which was quite refreshing.

The hotel gardens were beautiful. What a setting for a wedding ! Certainly one to consider if any of our kids ever decide to fly the nest and tie the knot :-)

We had a walk down throught the public footbath (fields with plentiful cowpats - don't try it in the dark :-) )down to Carleton village to the Cross Keys pub for a couple of drinks. Again, another friendly establishment with very tasteful decor and friendly staff. We were tempted to eat there but decided to give our custom to the hotel on our return ( but we will definately return to the Cross Keys at a future date to try it out)
The meal at the hotel was nice but if I have to nit pick a fault it was the frozen chips - a pet hate of mine. Also, perhaps because the hotel was recommending other places to eat there was little bit of a lack of ambience as there were very few people eating there.

Breakfast next morning - again no fault. A freshly cooked breakfast served to your table, not buffet style although you could choose cereal, fruit, yoghurts and juices from a buffet table too.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I would certainly recommend it for a quiet getaway

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales valleys
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

stayed for 1 night on bed and breakfast. felt very relaxed after a long journey. sat outside with a drink or two in evening sunshine then had lovely food which was reasonably priced and very good. lots of little snacks around the bar and lounge and the staff were unobtrusive but helpful. the hotel is not within walking distance of night activities which suited us just fine. quiet and peaceful. large room with good bathroom facilities. large car park and biker friendly. if you want a peaceful break go here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is the first time I have felt compelled to leave a review, but I feel I just can't end my stay without letting everyone know just how wonderful this place is. We booked a last minute break to get away from it and we were lucky they had a family room available over the Easter Weekend. The room was huge and included a kitchen with a fridge and microwave. But the best part of the stay was the friendliness of the staff. They were so lovely and helpful and could not do enough for us. Our 5 year old son was treated like royalty and they went out of their way to ensure he was accommodated with his own choice of breakfast and his own choice of dinner. They even sifted out the onions in their gravy as they were thoughtful enough to ask us if he would prefer the gravy without the onions. When we checked in to the room he had a chocolate easter egg on his pillow, which was just really thoughtful. We decided to stay for an extra night and they accommodated us well, even though the room we were in was booked and we had to move to a room which was a little smaller, it was still fantastic. The hotel is located near many amenities such as Rhegged and the Ostrich Farm and the Ullswater Steamers. We will definitely be staying there again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknlou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
1.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
868 reviews
11.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundthorn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundthorn Country House

Property: Roundthorn Country House
Address: Beacon Edge, Penrith CA11 8SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundthorn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade II listed Georgian Mansion overlooking the Market town of Penrith, The Roundthorn is set in its own landscaped gardens and boasts panoramic views of the Eden Valley and Lakeland Fells. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished with a mix of traditional and contemporary styles, and following a major refurbishment in early 2008 the cosy residents lounge and bar areas are perfect for relaxing after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundthorn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundthorn Country House Hotel Penrith
Roundthorn Country Hotel
Roundthorn Country House Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing