We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful circle be careful of the mud!”

Long Meg and her Daughters
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating from the Bronze Age, this is England's third largest stone circle that consists of a huge ring (the Daughters) of more than 60 stones and Long Meg, a 12-foot-high block of red sandstone.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful circle be careful of the mud!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The human face of Long Meg is a wonderful image as she watches over her daughters whose stones stretch across a farm road and are visited daily by cattle but few tourists. Just beware that if you are traveling in anything larger than a car, there's nowhere to turn around and you may become stuck in the mud (like we did) and need the help of the farmer, to whom we are extremely grateful (and clearly we weren't the first).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    56
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fab stopping off spot along a walk & good picnic spot!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Long Meg and her Daughters is one of the largest druidic stone circles in England but is quite untrampeled by tourists. There is a story that you cannot ever count the same number of stones twice around the circle. Our kids had fun climbing and we were lucky to be there during raspberry picking season - the combination of the two was fantastic and the raspberries were great though we surely ate a lot of them as we went around the field!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Field Trip”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you like your history then this is for you. I visited this site whilst on a field trip for my History Degree. Absolutely fascinating place. A stone circle with a monolith outside (Long Meg). I visited with my Archaeology module group. It was key for me to study this particular site for the essay I was to write on stone circles. One of its main draws is that it is almost impossible to count the stones. Trust me I tried and it had me stumped...bizarre. As a historic site it is fantastic, but don't expect anything else to be there. Don't go expecting there to be a gift shop, state of the art toilets, guides and tours. This is not that sort of place. The toilet are wherever you can find privacy! Take it on the chin and enjoy this true, realistic, rustic British history at its best. Plus the views are great too!!! (and bring wellies and waterproofs as it is the Lake District!!!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A bizarre step back in time”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was here on a research mission for some other local oddities (Lacy's Caves, Eden Lacy viaduct etc) so decided to stop here too as it was so near. Whilst not as visibly spectacular as places like Stonehenge or the Callanish stones on the Isle of Lewis, you can only stand in silence and try to comprehend what the people of the day were doing and the rituals, ceremonies and traditions they followed.

It kind of diverts your mind from your everyday worries!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Long Meg & her Daughters is a stone circle dating back to the Bronze Age. There are lots of walks around and about and there is a fantastic pub called The Shepherds Inn nearby in the village of Langwathby serving good food.
You need to wear wellies or old shoes as the field with the stone circle has been used for grazing cattle & is chocca block full of cow pats!
The surrounding area and views are lovely.
It's only a very short drive from Penrith and there's lots to see around and about. Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthportJenmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Meg and her Daughters also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Long Meg and her Daughters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing