We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended if you are in the region”

Temple Sowerby House
Ranked #86 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Price range: $42 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant at Temple Sowerby House offers a truly relaxing dining experience with innovative menus and friendly and attentive service. Passionate about the superb range of produce available here in Cumbria, Head Chef Daniel blends the best traditions of British and Classical French cooking, redefined for today's lifestyle and tastes. His menus encompass seasonal dishes with a deftness of touch and an explosion of flavours! Reservations required. Last orders taken at 20:45PM.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended if you are in the region”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Fantastic restaurant. Immaculate service from start to finish, amazing food/art and very reasonably priced for what you get. If you have a choice - go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fantastic place only surpassed by the truely fabulous food. I had lamb, I cant remember having any better. My wife had the rhubarb sweet and said it was the best sweet she had ever eaten. I thoroughly recommend a visit, it is quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robw363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fine dining in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

An excellent meal, beautifully served and presented in a lovely Georgian house in the peaceful Eden Valley. The menu is relatively small but is delicious and has some unusual touches and uses local produce. The bread alone is worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've ever had”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We enjoyed dinner, bed and breakfast at this hotel, and the meal was absolutely fantastic. Such a surprise in a small village, well off the beaten track. The food choices were witty, confident and very good indeed. Locally sourced produce, unusual food combinations....this chef really knows his stuff. Now on our list of greatest places to eat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jej59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow the food was amazing”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The setting was perfect, the service was excellent, the food was amazing, the tast of the food the presentation, the flavours we fantastic. The Chef is very creative, all local food cooked to perfection. It was our first visit I am sure it will not be our last.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaymakerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Sowerby House also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Temple Sowerby, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Temple Sowerby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing