We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel! - we need more of these near motorways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great hotel! – we need more of these near motorways”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We chose this hotel because we had afternoon tea here a few years ago and we loved the open fire and the comfortable atmosphere of the hotel. We had noticed it had a good sized indoor swimming pool. It's just off the M6 motorway at Penrith, so ideal for the traveller.

We were not disappointed, – the staff were very helpful, the log fire was burning and the hotel was very comfortable. The lounge has a high ceiling with wooden beams so you feel as if you were in an alpine lodge. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed using the swimming pool and had dinner in the restaurant. Altogether a very pleasant experience. The only comment I would make is that the price of breakfast and dinner is a little expensive but the service with very pleasant and helpful people serving you.

Room Tip: Try and book an all-inclusive deal to get the breakfast price down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Super review, thank you ever so much. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    351
    125
    63
    25
See reviews for
271
341
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The outside of this hotel looks like a holiday camp but inside is very well furnished, lots of wooden floors and large fireplaces and the rooms were very nice. On the first evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent. The children enjoyed the swimming pool. However, when we made the hotel booking we were assured that children were most welcome and when I suggested they get some earplugs for our little ones was told they are quite used to boisterous kids and it would not be a problem. On arrival we went into the cafe for lunch. This consisted of sandwiches and chips for which the price was we felt extortionate! Our 3 year old and 4 year old girls were noisy to say the least finding the wooden floor excellent for practising their tap dancing. Needless to say we soon rounded them up to keep them quiet and to get them out into the fresh air. While we took them off to get their coats etc, one male member of staff, I believe he may have been from the restaurant, complained to my daughter about the girls behaviour. Of course we had already quietened them down as we were aware of the comfort of other guests. On entering the restaurant for our evening meal, the same rude man from the restaurant seemed quite happy to show us to our table in the furthest corner away from other diners. Well that was enough for us not to bother booking a meal the next evening. We went out to eat instead at a lovely Chinese where the staff more than welcomed the children. This was the first time all five children had had a couple of days away together, ages from 9 down to 6 months. Of course they were overexcited but we always ensured they did not bother anyone else. This hotel has a few children's facilities however if they do not want children who walk, talk, laugh, shout etc. to stay then please say so, but do not give the impression that children of all ages are welcome. Not so.

Room Tip: Rooms for families are okay for 2 adults & 2 children, there were 2 children 2 adults and a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for your review, and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Regarding children, as the father of two young boys, I would like to think that we are incredibly child friendly, and welcome children of all ages. If however, the behaviour of any guest, irrespective of age, has a negative effect on other guests experience, then I am sorry to say that yes, we would intervene.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed here after 3 of us had spent 10 days cycling round the lake district. The room catered for 5 people, perfect, the staff were brilliant and let us put our bikes in a downstairs room, the facilities are lovely. My 4 star is for the restaurant. Our meal was nice, we had the chateau briand, one of my children had the penne pasta as a childrens portion, it was a fairly large plate with a small bowl in the middle, filled with literally 6 pieces of penne, my 3 year old could eat more than 6 pieces of penne from being about 12 months old, my 10 year old wasn't impressed, we did joke about it and often do. Also at breakfast they started clearing away the buffet early and one of my children who had chosen to have cereals and fruit first hadn't had chance to get to the buffet, it was a good time before the advertised serving time too, so i had to ask for something. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again though, but would be a bit more careful about dinner choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyBCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments on dinner, which I promise to follow up. I do hope that this does dot deter you from returning soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here to break the journey to Scotland and it was great once again
Warm welcome, good food and drinks.
Children really enjoyed the pool and the treats left for them in the room
Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
'Highly recommended!' thank you ever so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Had a lovely experience the room was a good size as having a 5 year old with a lot of toys needs a big room. Room was nice beds were comfortable little one slept on a sofa bed and was spacious and cosy. The spa and pool were amazing spent hours there. Staff were all lovely and breakfast we had was very good. At night we sat in the bar with crisps and snacks and was nice and family friendly we will be returning to stay at the hotel. Very much enjoyed it. Can't wait till next time !!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 363chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for the glowing review, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Awful. The room smelled faintly of smoke. No hot water.
Hopeless staff. Offered free stay after complaining to the head office, but not accepting this level of service. Have stayed on números ocasions in the part, big this experience a real surprise. Expected better of a 4 star hotel.



Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank lightpainter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am genuinely sorry that our attempts to remedy matters for you whilst you were here were met with robust rebuff. I am also sorry that you deemed our offer of either a refund of your accommodation or a complimentary future stay unwelcome. That offer remains, should you wish to contact me. The hot water issues were quickly resolved, and I do believe that a future visit might give you a more representative experience.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel for a formal works function. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean only niggle no tissues in the bathroom. The pool and spa looked very good but we didn't try them. Bar area comfortable with a cosy log fire. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, and sorry about the tissues!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,476 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Property: North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing