We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$331
$321
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
492
412
145
68
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
412
145
68
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombunk bedsjacuzzi and steam roomlovely hotelrestaurant staffreception areaswimming pooldressing gownsrelaxing staycoffee machinestayed here for one nightpublic areasleisure facilitiesopen firechanging roomsfresh milklittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2008

The hotel is just off junction 40 of the M6 near Penrith and therefore easy to find. We (family with two children) stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it.

The room was about average with just enough space and the hotel reception, bar, restaurant and spa were spacious, comfortable and relaxing. The food and service were very good and friendly. Breakfast was particularly nice with plenty of choice.

There were no supervised activities for the children, but there was a kids play room which was good with a pool table and air hockey. It was situated next to the spa bar so you could have a coffee and keep an eye on them. There weren't many kids around so it was quiet whilst we were there. There's also a large lawned area outside for them to play on.

The prices aren't cheap though. For a couple of rounds of drinks and evening meals it came to about £75 each night. Overall, it was above average and much nicer inside than it looks from the outside. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Stayed here on a spa break with my partner on a dinner, B&B basis with spa treatments.

On first impression i was dissapointed with the reception as they had booked us a twin however on our confirmation it stated a double. We then had to stay in a connecting room as there were no doubles left.

Rooms were on the smaller side from what the pictures showed, bathroom was clean and modern with toiletries freebies.

The food was lovely, breakfast and dinner were both great with plenty of choice.

The spa i would highly reccomend, very relaxing, good service and helpful staff, pool was clean and modern. The gym was a little out dated but plenty of machines.

The location of this hotel isnt too great, its just off the M6 and it does get rather noisy, also trying to get a space in the car park is a nightmare because there are constant business meetings at the hotel.

Overall nice hotel but has a few slight problems which need adressing.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Just returned from a short breaks in the Lake District and stayed at the North Lakes.
Service was very good, staff were friendly and very helpful. the speed of service in the restaurant was also very good.
Food - the dinners were excellent. Good selection and beautifully cooked. Breakfast is basically a buffet and is as good as you get on this basis.
Room - clean and fresh. Nice freebie shower gel and shampoo. Is getting to the stage where the rooms need a refresh - as does the exterior to the hotel.
Spa - did not use the dry side, but a quick look suggested that the gym was probably ok. The wet side was disappointing, dingy and needs updating. The changing room was poor - reminded me of the ones you find in schools, they really need updating and upgrading.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Me and my partner stayed here when my partner proposed. The hotel itself is quite ugly on the outside and near a main road, I kind of thought at the time that it might be in some lush field or something but it wasn't! The inside had a log fire and was very cosy and welcoming. The room was lovely. The food was also lovely, great restaurant with a man playing a piano outside, while you waited to be seated. The leisure facilities are also brilliant. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HolidayAddicts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

went to the hotel for mine and my fiancee's anniversary for two nights it wasn't what we expected it to be but it was nice.
we both took advantage of the spa treatments was quite pricey but it was a special occasion.

The room was quite different to the images in the brochure and the images on the hotels website, it was smaller then expected.
We stayed in the executive suite which was decorated nice
but the bath room seemed a bit old and the shower was really hot. The food was well over budget for what you got and me and my boyfriend didnt like the food so we went to a near by pub which was near the hotel for our last night in Penrith.

Penrith is a lovely place with a lovely town with a few shops and places to stop to take photographs.

apart from the food and the price of the food we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 060511l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews