We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy. Relaxed. Odd..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

landed early eve .just of M-way ..with fam. [pleasant enough exterior .odd ly placed planters near entrance restricting ability to enter from certain area of car park...also step over them if returning from walk around the garden areas] ..swiftly through check-in. staff: pleasant .efficient.

...reception area: cosy feel-warm large fire-place [no fire during our stay] .restaurant bar areas off this reception area .nicely spaced. enough room to have secluded chat or get together with friends -probably the most appealing area of the site...
decor around reception bar offers warm/friendly feel...large couches, occasional chairs et al

wandered up to the rooms. Aah.k.fairly standard .double bed comfy enough for the duration-the "bunk beds" a little on the tired side though acceptable/ .room overall ok. usual brew facilities .could perhaps use a deeper clean this partic room. as could most of the building tbh ['cept perhaps the bar/ restaurant/reception area]

of note -the exterior has a large grassed area running parallel to the nearby roads. plenty of trees in-between. can walk across the grassed area to a nearby walkway which has picnic benches and such. there are also some climbing type bars and plenty of trees and a path wandering off further than we had time for.... the spa was calling. .towels available at spa reception. .the changing rooms/ could use some attention[as in a deep clean] they are functional with reasonable decor/large lockers. hair dryers. cloth dryer. certainly not the worst of changing rooms. ..the sauna -just off the C-Room-seats approx 4 -8 dependant on seating arrangements though at any one point during the 24hrs at the hotel .it was mostly myself only [great ] -dry heated stones are behind the sauna seating area- not suitable for applying water by self. .the pool had an area lane'd off enabling a little swimming. .the pool was on/off busy ...at most we shared the pool with ten or so people though often with the jacuzzi and steam room adjacent many patrons simple swam for two or three lengths and exited. .over-all the spa was ok. .we did not use the gym. .it seemed quite busy. many of these people used the steam room/jacuzzi/changing facilities.
.nice seating area near the spa reception. .seems to have a member's club attached or day paying customers. .approx 30% people we spoke with [7] using the spa facilities did not sleep in the hotel.
.we did not use restaurant though sat in reception for a time. .enjoyed that.
.the little garden area to the side of the main entrance is quite nice...enjoyed that too.
.nice touch was the biscuits for fam. .though no-one enquired on food allergies [which we have to wheat / dairy]
the biscuits were chocolate/ wheat based biscuits... though tbf a surprise isn't a surprise if they ask about it... .a nice touch though :)

.overall : an ok stay for one night. a little expensive for the area though the spa does effect this ..a little...only a little. .wouldn't stay again unless the price was much lower than currently ...or at current price refurb in the halls/rooms. .addition of plants and flowers +some features from the main reception area incorporating through the remainder of the site.... or some such to freshen the place...though tbh.. .it could simply use [in my humble opinion] a good deep-clean. .mainly through the hallways/ room we occupied [obv cannot speak for other rooms] and perhaps rear of the hotel leading to the grassed areas.

one night only. .worth stay/expense for spa -post long journey. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V0LUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thanks for your comprehensive comments. Please don’t leave it too long before you return.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for North Lakes Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a superior room booked through booking.com , room photos are shown as superior however we could not find anything remotely superior about room, at a cost of £140.00 per night with no breakfast.
The hotel itself on the exterior is ok and reception is nicely appointed, unfortunately upon entering corridors to rooms it all changes, badly stained carpets that would appear to have been there for 20 years and a general lack of cleanliness and not to today's 4 star standards , the room itself whilst of a reasonable size is very dated in appearance and also 90's style furniture mid-matched handles on wardrobes , cleaning standards again a bit iffy, also a fan was dominant most of the night, couldn't identify where the noise was from but very annoying,
We had a drink in the outside terrace area at 3 pm and there was empty glasses everywhere and dirty ashtrays , again out at 4 for a drink and again at 5 still not cleaned away whole area neglected weeds growing through mono block and a filthy carpet back in covered in chewing gum. Maybe the hotel should review its policy on the general standards

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kentuckyaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review which, it goes without saying, I was disappointed to read. I was disappointed on a number of fronts, firstly regarding your comments on our Superior Rooms, which were last refurbished only 4 years ago. I am sorry they did not meet with your approval. I was equally disappointed that you did not make us aware of your dissatisfaction whilst here. This would have allowed us not only to apologise for any shortfall in person, but also endeavour to make amends. I am genuinely sorry that we did not meet your expectation, and on this basis, if you were to choose us in the future, then please contact me personally, and I will organise the best possible rate for you as a gesture of goodwill.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got home from a lovely one night stay in the very atmospheric North Lakes Hotel and Spa. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant team of receptionists who made us aware of the Spa and dining facilities. Our room, 214, was light and airy with a huge bed and lovely feather filled pillows (other pillows are available for allergy sufferers).It was immaculately clean and had a comprehensive range of tea and coffee (including ground coffee sachets). The staff in the bar and restaurant were fantastic and appeared when you needed them but weren't too gushing or intrusive. Had a fantastic meal of lamb which was faultless. Breakfast was just as good with a large selection of hot and cold foods.. We enjoyed the pool which was lovely and warm.
The overall ambience of the place is wonderful and I got the impression from the way the staff worked that they enjoyed being there too. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED *****

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Jayne, thank you so much for this fabulous review, glad you enjoyed it! Don’t leave it too long before you return.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got home from weekend in Penrith. Stayed at North Lakes Hotel with family for 2 nights bed and breakfast.
Beautiful hotel, great rooms with comfy beds, spacious, very clean and huge white fluffy towels.
Apart from the fantastic breakfast, the best thing about this hotel is the people who work there. We had 2 disabled people with us and still nothing was too much trouble!
There is a great pool, jacuzzi and steam room, so remember to take you swimming costume.
Would defiantly go back!
Thank you for a great stay!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank foodygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

You are more than welcome, and thanks for the great feedback. I hope to see you again before too very long.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

despite the shire group carbon copy rooms the 4 star rating is still well deserved.

spa facilities were very good.

food also very good.

highly recommended.

proximity to lakes and M6 very good.

would recommend the nearby pub, black swan - has won awards for its tasty pies !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks for the review, and i'm pleased to note that you're a big fan of the group.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is equidistant from Central belt in Scotland and Manchester area - about 2 hr drive. Lots of quiet and private areas within the restaurant and bar area for meetings. Food is of good quality and value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chace5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

We couldn't agree more - come back soon!

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed there while on a coach tour the staff are very helpfull and allways on the ball. Rooms are fairly ok whit free wifi . There is plenty of parking ect. But one problem I do have is that tour menu portions are so small the main course looks more like a small stater

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pet658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. I’m not sure we’ve ever had negative feedback about portion sizes before, and had you made us aware at the time, I am sure we would have made every effort to satisfy your appetite.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $148 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing