We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff try hard but needs a serious facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for the weekend during Kendal Calling. Staff were pleasant and tried hard. Food was pretty good, not amazing but ok.

The problem with the hotel is simply the decor of the rooms, corridors, exterior (sky blue??!!). The rooms were probably fancy about 30 years ago but since have had little improvement apart from new TV, bed and maybe bathroom. They are a bit dark brown...

Its a nice enough hotel but a little overpriced in my opinion. Would i stay for a personal holiday? Definitely not... There must be better options if i was on holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshj6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I'm really sorry to hear you felt the hotel was tired. The hotel exterior has recently been redecorated and I will certainly look into the other areas that you mentioned.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night in advance of a business meeting. I arrived somewhat late, and was greater by a very friendly receptionist who made sure I was settled in. The communal areas were clean and modern. Unfortunately, the rooms are somewhat dated - I stayed in Room 201 and whilst the room was clean, the carpet and TV had seen better days. There's also no air conditioning which was an issue for me, although wouldn't normally be in the Lakes! This is what's made this hotel a 4* for me. On the plus side, the tea tray, complimentary water and Wi-Fi were great. I laso had a lovely swim the following morning (spa area looked great) and the meeting rooms were comfortable with great tea and coffee facilities. Again, great service throughout from the Concierge, with luggage and taxis taken care of. Overall, a lovely hotel, and will be 5* after their next makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It is great to hear you were looked after by all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my two teenage sons. The hotel is easy to find and local amenities are close by. On arrival, a query about the room type we had been given was dealt with fairly promptly and very politely. We had a superior double with a sofa bed. The room was well furnished but it was not as large as I had expected, especially with a sofa bed made up. The sofa bed is only suitable for a light person. The mattress is thin and can easily be felt through the bedding.
As a superior room, the extras were quite nice, a built-in fridge with juice and fresh milk, branded toiletries, fluffy robes, hot drink facilities with fresh ground coffee and biscuits. The pool and spa areas were clean and modern and it was nice to have the use of theses facilities as a guest. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was very good.
It would have been useful if we had been personally told/shown where the facilities were as we did not discover the children's room until our last night there, My only other niggle is that whilst the rooms were cleaned and tidied each day, replenishment of milk, coffee etc was irregular. No big deal though as I just went to reception and asked for what I needed.
In conclusion, a well run hotel that caters for everyone- business people, coach trippers, families, over-night stays, non-resident gym users, but I do feel that because of this, it was a very impersonal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyGBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! It's really nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We will pick up with the team regarding replenishment of items in the bedrooms.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely weekend in Penrith, staying at the North Lakes hotel and spa, which we can rate very highly.
The hotel from the outside was not particularly appealing (in our opinion), painted in bright baby blue. However once we entered the reception/lobby area, we were pleasantly surprised. The area was very inviting and the staff were prompt, friendly and helpful.
When we originally booked directly with the hotel, there were only superior business rooms available, but when we found a deal (via trip advisor) offering a double room, with breakfast for £35 cheaper, we decided to swap. The room we ended up with was, i am sad to say, nothing special. For £133 per night, I was expecting more. Although this may sound picky, there was a bit of wallpaper peeling off, a chip in the bath, the bathroom door had a large chunk of poorly filled plaster filling a gauge out of the door, the bed was 2 singles pushed together and therefore quite uncomfortable and despite having the windows wide open at night, the room was absolutely roasting! (bearing in mind it was only around 12-15 degrees outside, we were surprised at this - it could certainly benefit from A/C!). The fixed shower was also a bit annoying for my partner as at 6'1'' was situated far too low (about 5'8'').
Overall, in comparison to the general standard of the hotel, the room was tired and in need of refurbishment.
On the upside, there was a good selection of drinks and biscuits, mineral water and crabtree and evelyn toiletries, all replenished every day.

Having said all that, when it comes to the hotel's breakfast, we have no complaints whatsoever! Both the quality and variety were quite simply top-notch and I think you would struggle to find anything nicer. There is both a hot and cold buffet and a list of cook to order items too. We sampled most things and it really did set us up for the day. You only have to look at our photos to see how nice it is.
We also ate in the restaurant one evening and again, the service was second-to-none. My partner ordered one of the pasta dishes, which (unfortunately for him) contained a heavy amount of coriander... the one food in the world he doesn't eat! We were reluctant to say anything as to not come across as difficult customers, but in the end decided to. They were more than happy to swap the dish for him and did this as quickly as they could. I ordered the lamb and think it was the nicest lamb i've ever eaten. We also went for the 'special' starter which was a cold buffet of meats/fish/salads etc. Once again, the choice and quality were amazing.

We also made use of the spa facilities (pool/steam room/jacuzzi) on most days, all of which were lovely to use. There are also saunas, but these are separate for men and women and located in the changing rooms, so we didn't use these. The showers in the changing room are MUCH nicer than the ones in the room. Towels are provided. We also treated ourselves to a spa treatment on the last day and the staff there were also very friendly. We didn't have much choice of our treatment times as we booked last minute, so this is worth doing if you have a busy schedule!

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend this hotel, however I would be interested to see if the superior rooms and suites are in better condition than the standard double we stayed in.

Room Tip: Always go for the breakfast option... it is well worth it! Try the hotel for dinner at least once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for the review and all of your positive comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our hearty Cumbrian breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my 11 year old son. 10 mins walk form Penrith Station (0.5miles) 15 mins from bus station. Great hotel, Décor and staff very welcoming, lovely spacious room. Keswick, Carlisle etc all easily accessible by public transport as are Lakes. Recommend bus to Keswick - boat trip round Derwent Water, Pencil Museum etc. Rheged Centre is 12mins in bus from Rail Station. Fares inexpensive. My son loved the pool and steam room! Wished we'd stayed for another night. Breakfast was expensive at £12.95 (£10 per child). 2nd morning we ordered room service for one full breakfast (which includes continental) and toast and tea (though tea & coffee making facilities in room) and shared it! Enough for two (even though there was a £4 tray charge still more practical than paying an extra £10 for a bowl of cereal). Staff very attentive, nothing a bother. I reported the coating on the drawer hairdryer was melted just due to overheating - when we returned from Lakes a brand new drier on bed! Restaurant was quite expensive but they did a cracking 3 course "Menu of the Day" for £19.95. Roast Lamb was to die for. Careful re kids menu if older children. Portion of Penne Pasta was tiny (for a toddler) and we had to order a side of chips to supplement it. I asked my son what he liked best about the hotel and he said everything! Very happy with that. Should have been in Portugal for a special birthday celebration but due to my son's op had to cancel. This was a great choice for a wee break at short notice. Other tip is to book online - room rates MUCH cheaper! Recommend.

Room Tip: Car park is busy so ask for room to rear. Ok at front if windows closed (double glazed) but when hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for all your great positives in your review, it is great to hear you and your son had a brilliant time. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 1 night in this hotel and just of the Motorway, very welcoming staff and excellent decor, restaurant staff and food delicious. Good value for money. Staff could not have been more helpful. A wonderful night's stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on in the rooms overlooking the car park, thought it would be noisy with passing motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Many thanks indeed, please do come back soon.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. The hotel is extremely easy to find and the staff were excellent (some guests were checking in early and if the rooms weren’t ready the staff took the bags and put them in the rooms for when the guests returned – a nice touch). The restaurant is very expensive given the excellent food options in the area and the pool was astonishingly busy with lots of kids so we used neither. My wife used the gym and rated it very highly. The bar staff were great at giving us plenty of ice for our coolbox and a coachload of tourists arrived just after we did but the staff kept their calm and appeared completely unfazed despite the mountains of bags they had to deal with.

The downsides? The TV was pretty limited (all Sky Sports channels except Sky Sports Ashes?), the wi-fi was very slow and there was no fridge in the room. The shower had a US-style fixed head which is always annoying but the bathroom had a self de-misting mirror which is always great. There was no air conditioning and the king sized bed was just two singles joined together, so it could have been more comfortable. The receptionist put on a bit of a hard-sell for the breakfast which was very off-putting “you must book now to get the discount” which is always the sign that if we have time to think about it we won’t take it! My advice is to screw the rip-off hotel buffet breakfast and go across the road to Cranstons where you can get a freshly cooked (non buffet) breakfast for £5!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Antony Penny - General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Many thanks for your review and positive comments about the team. However, I must challenge your assertion that our Restaurant is expensive, and take exception to being described as ‘Rip off’. Our menus cater for all budgets, and indeed, guests can enjoy 3 courses from our daily menu for only £19.95. Additionally, I believe that the quality and variety provided at breakfast is exceptional at £14.95, and when pre-booked at £12.45 represents even better value. I am genuinely sorry that you disagree.

Kind regards,
Antony Penny - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
17.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lakes Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: $149 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing